First Build wont start, helpless.

Themoniter61

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006
This is my first build ever. I always wanted 2 do it and finally made the money. here is my parts list

AMD 64 x2 4200 (AM2)
Gigabyte S5 mobo
FS Groupd 450 watt power supply.
OCZ DDR2 memory (2x512)
BFG geforce 7900gt OC
Nzxt apollo case.

I spent all day plugging this stuff in, being very careful and i finally finished, closed the case plug the thing in and....nothing. No lights, no whiring, not even a sputter. IM guessing its either the power supply or the motherboard, should i try another PSU? what can i do to get this thing running?

ikjadoon

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2006
Nothing? No beeps, no fans spinning, nothing? I'd check to see that the motherboard is getting power, also the hard drive. Weird. Outlet OK? Is the LED on the mobo on? Really weird. Usually you get some beeps or the fans start. Hmph, I'd check all the motherboard connections one more tim. CD Drive, Hard drive, CPU Power, Motherboard Power, CPU Fan, everything.

~Ibrahim~

ikjadoon

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2006
Yeah. It is best to get another person and look at the computer. Doesn't have to be a geek. Let them check everything over, especially the outlet, etc.

~Ibrahim~

mcgreek

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2006
yes theres a switch on the psu that has to be pushed down where the line is

and make sure u have the 24 pin in where it should be

and if u still dont keep getting power try another psu

apprentice25

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2006
I had the same problem with my first build. It turned out to be that I did not wire the power switch correctly. I also did not plug in the 12 volt cable.
Hope this helps.

Themoniter61

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006
the 24 pin connecter only goes in 1 way. and yes, i did flip the switch to the 'on' position on the PSU lol. (im not that new at this). Im going 2 try another PSU and hopefully that will work

applause182

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006