Get Quad SLI Before It Is Hatched

The_Abyss

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2006
What are your feelings on Quad SLI?

I'd achieve similar heating output for my house through conventional means, i.e. an open log fire, or gas heating.

I'd achieve similar noise levels my moving nearer to an airport.

Seriously though, it is for the ultra-enthusiast, and by the time it is enabled and running smoothly, it will only be a few months away from being redundant by the next-gen cards.

The overall concept is of course sound - multi-core GPU - but the current implementation is clumsy as to be expected in the early days.

Avoid.

prozac26

Distinguished
May 9, 2005
Although I have no experience with it, nor am I planning on using Quad-SLI, I feel it's pointless. Dual GPUs on single PCI-E slot are a pretty good idea, providing it's in a good price range.

raven_87

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2005
Unfortunately the rendering power of these systems can't be fully realized until we rid ourselves of the massive CPU bottleneck. Seeing the Quad SLI systems fall behind the 'single' 7950 and occasionally the X1900XTX just screams a couple things: One being drivers; even though this is a solution that enthusiasts can purchase, it doesnt look to be a sane one other than to physcially look at four GPU's in your machine and smiling from the gratification.

Looking at that table of results, I feel as if Quad SLI loses more than it wins. However most of the victories for QSLI are only several frames a second. Are 4-7fps worth the $599 tag for another 7950? I cannot doubt that one of the GX2' is a great thing, however dual setup, and Quad SLI has some major growing pains and driver revisions before it comes out of this 'lab rat' stage of mere speculation and into the realm of producing acceptable results.