nome

Distinguished
May 23, 2006
any suggestions/changes?

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/Wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=3116452&WishListTitle=abcdefg

I was gonna add in a sound card and dvd burner but I think I'll wait on those. Can't afford x-fi and keep hearing bad news about the lower budget cards so meh...

The 1900xt seems hard to pass up due to the $100 rebate. I changed the ram cause the other ddr2-800 sold out that I was gonna get. The I listed now is cheaper and someone says it OC to 800 within the voltage limits on the warranty. Anyone know for sure on that?

Also I could get the 3800 proc instead to save a few bucks...Not sure if it's worth it to go to the 4200 but I would rather not OC unless it's gonna be stable for a long time. I can't afford to replace this stuff.

I would appreciate any insights...

pollenpaul

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
That's basically the same system I'm gonna build, not that I'm an expert or anything, but I forsee people saying to save some cash on the video card unless you really need to performance now. Reason being that it won't be too long until DX10 cards come out. So save the cash now and buy something newer later. That card is a pretty good deal though, but I'm going to buy an X850XT or a 7600gt and save more money and upgrade the card in 6 or more months.

I'm in the same boat about the processor, I'd rather buy the faster processor now, as it's only 30 bucks more.

Hope that helps.

nome

Distinguished
May 23, 2006
yea i have a case and a cd burner.