Sign in with
Your question

New HDD, Few Questions

Last response: in Storage
August 8, 2006 1:36:04 PM

Hey All-

These are probably pretty simple questions but I haven't bought storage in 4 years so my brain is a bit dusty. I have been running a 7200 RPM 160 GB IDE Western Digital for 4 years, I believe probably with 2 GB of cache. I recently purchased a WD 250 GB SataII with 16 MB of Cache and had a few questions.

First, I plugged the drive in fine but when i booted into windows and tried to load the WD "Data Lifeguard" to partition it the DLG would not load because I have GRUB installed in the MBR of my other, also western digital disk. Should I be fine partitioning the new drive with fdisk or partition magic? I wasn't sure because I remember in the past with drives greater than a certain size (127GB?) you needed to load the manufactures software at the start of the drive so you could use it all. I figure this is fixed by now, but, who knows. My motherboard is about a year old with the newest BIOS (ASRock 939Dual-SATAII...)

Secondly I noticed in the BIOS that the mode for the drive is listed as "IDE" and "normal" with the option of changing it from IDE to SATA and from normal to Strong. Is there any performance / benefit either way?

Finally, would there be any performance benefit in having windows installed on the new 16 MB SataII drive as opposed to the old 2MB IDE Drive (both at 7200 RPM)? What about other applications (games mostly)? I had planned to wait for vista to install windows clean on the new drive, but XP is giving me trouble showing both CPUs in my new dual core so was thinking maybe i'll just install it fresh on the new drive.

Thanks a lot.

More about : hdd questions

August 8, 2006 2:54:49 PM

You do not need to load the WD Data Lifeguard on your motherboard.