dohicky

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2006
Okay, I'm planning on building my own gaming rig, but I'm a novice as far as computer hardware is concerned. I recently became interested in getting into PC gaming, but much to my dismay, I found out that my PC (a dell dimension 2400) wouldn't be close enough for most games even after I installed the upgrades.

I was reading an article on this site (http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/10/14/the_/), and the article suggests that it's possible to put together your own gaming machine for little over $500. Now, I noticed the article didn't include everything such as the case, monitor, etc., so it would cost slightly more than that. But still, I figure this would be a decent investment considering the price of next generation consoles. Anyway, I was planning on just using the article as a guide, but I was wondering if there was anything you'd change. Maybe there's a part I can get for less, or a slightly more expensive part I should get, and skimp somewhere else. As I said, I'm a beginner, so I'd appreciate some help.

Also, I noticed in the article it said that this was something to "build up from", so it wouldn't be able to play everything. What I was wondering is, what exactly would it be able to play, though?

notquitehere188

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2006
it is surprising what cheap systems are capable of. You may have to lower the graphics settings from max to get decent framerates, but it does not affect the gameplay. I have a friend with integrated graphics, and despite all the negative "press" they get, he plays current games at 30 fps and up at approximatley medium settings

in reference to that guide, it seemed good, but you should probably look for a LGA755 mobo, since p4's are so cheap now and it will allow you to upgrade to a Core 2 should you decide to.

you should definatley get at least 1GB of ram if you want a solid system, perhaps up to 1.5Gb