louky

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006
This is my first build, parts have been assembled, but my problem is that i get to this screen:

http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/2568/506yy3.jpg

with no beeps and cannot go any further. I hit delete to enter setup and it just goes to a black screen with a flashing cursor in the top left corner. Twice the computer has loaded directly into bios. Once with the memory in slot A1 and the other time in slot A2. On both occasions it was the first time I had memory in the slot.

I suspect ram compatiblity issue, G.Skill and M2N-E. When I had both sticks of memory installed in B1 A1 I was getting long beep two short beeps (video problem). Then I went to A1 only and bios loaded first try, then wouldn't load again. After that I moved to A2 and bios loaded, now won't. I have tried starting it up with nothing but cpu, memory, and video card and it does the same thing as when I have everything connected.

I don't really know what to do from here, is this definitely a memory issue? Any thing else I should do to be sure? Any ideas, suggestions, etc would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

First of all (I know this doesn't REALLY matter, it just bugs the hell out of me when I see it), plug the hard drive into the first SATA port, and plug the optical drive into the Primary master port. Hit F1 when you see the screen in the image you linked to. Download the latest BIOS for the M2N-E, throw it on a floppy and flash it.... The CPU support list for the M2N-E shows all of the CPU's only supported since version 0203 (the BIOS version I linked to above).

louky

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006
I plugged the SATA drive into the first port and set the optical drive jumper to primary. I hit F1, but it just goes to the black screen with flashing cursor. I don't have windows installed so how do I flash the bios? I am a noob so please forgive my ignorance. Thanks.

aristotelus

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
I recently build a system around a M2N-E board.