GA-K8N Pro SLI won't post PCI video

sinucus

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2006
I have a strange problem that is kicking my butt. I've been running this computer for 4 months now with no problem using a PCI-E 16x card. I needed to install a regular PCI video card and it won't post. I've tried plugging in the PCI card with the PCIE card plugged in and unplugged, no difference. I changed the Video Init to PCI in the BIOS and no go. If I remove both cards I get the standard beep code error, but with the PCI card plugged into either of the PCI slots I get no beep code and no video. I've looked over the manual and flashed to F8 and nothing seems to fix it. I've also booted with no card and then plugged in the PCI card and booted, still no post. What am I over-looking? Thanks

I have tried the card in another computer and it works just fine.

*edited for typo's

sinucus

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2006
I needed a dual head card and my PCI-E card isn't dual head, so I picked up a cheap PCI card. This is a work computer so I didn't need a fancy card, and obviously it doesn't have AGP and there were no cheap PCI-E cards to be found. Tomorrow, I'm going to bring in an older PCI card from home and see if I can get that one to work. BTW, the card I'm trying to put in is an ATI Radeon 9250 PCI.

sinucus

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2006
My PCI-E card is an ASUS. I didn't think about that. If I get my other PCI card to work tomorrow I'll assume you were right and return the PCI card.

sinucus

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2006
I'll keep that in mind seeing as I got my PCI card from the egg it'll be easier to RMA. I don't see how it would be trying to use 2 different drivers because when I try and boot the system I'm only using 1 card in the mobo. I even booted it w/o a card in and then booted with only the PCI in. At this point an RMA sounds resonable. I'll still wait until I can test another card before I go through an RAM process.