Please help my decision for my new rig!

DaVorhazer

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2006
Yeah so I'm new in many forums, don't call me a newb, I just want help.I'm a big gamer, So I'm thinking about getting a rig that will be windows vista ready, able to upgrade to one of the new DirectX 10 cards, and maybe try this new AM2 interface. So help me out, I got about 1500 bux budget and I could spend a little more if I have to.

So maybe around the lines of...
4800+ X2 or 5000+ X2 AM2 processor
some kind of pc6400 ddr2 RAM dual channel 2 GB
7900 GT to start out
SLI AM2 board
not sure HDD, i heard 320 GB go for like 100 something, SATA the best?

I really don't want to go 939 because they stopped making all those good processors and now they make them for AM2...

My current rig (don't laugh)
6800 ultra AGP Nvidia Card
3700+ Athlon Processor
250 GB HDD
1 GB Ultra RAM
Abit 754 Mobo

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 <--- This will beat any AMD chip out there at stock.

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 <--- This one will support Conroe out of the box, and it's a good overclocker.

RAM: Corsair XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2-800

Video Card: eVGA Geforce 7600GT <--- Drop to this until the DX 10's come out. There's no sense in wasting $300 on a video card you're only going to use for 8 months. Crossfire and SLI are a waste of money as well. If you aren't going to be gaming at resolutions over 1600 x 1200, AND you're not going to be gaming at resolutions over 1600 x 1200, don't even give Crossfire or SLI a second thought.

PSU: Antec Truepower 550W

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA2

Total before taxes and shipping: $1139.96

k-

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2006
If you want to spend about 30 more bucks and get a better graphics card,
get the Sapphire 256mb version of x1800xt at newegg.

it's $200 and performs about equally as the 7900gt you wanted.

chewbenator

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006
For AMD if you are set on it change the CPU and Motherboard suggested by The_Prophecy to:

CPU: