Just got parts, trying to fit it togather

Nysze

Distinguished
Jun 9, 2006
I know mostly purchasing hardware questions belong here, but this is my first time and I am really lost.

Alright, I bought this case here, and I am having trouble getting the motherboard inside of it. First it is really tight inside, wish I would have gotten a bigger one, but the problem is that it came with only two of the brass nuts, and I'm not exactly sure what they expect me to do with only two, is it alright to just screw the motherboard in with the two? Is there something else I have to do? Do I just need to buy extra brass nuts?

Also I'm a bit confused by the fact that the holes for the brass nuts are raised a bit, at first I thought they just took away the need for the spacers, but this would ground the motherboard so.... I'm confused.

Nysze

Distinguished
Jun 9, 2006
The motherboard would be touching the metal on the case though, and would thus be grounded, I thought this was a big no no. Unless the motherboard is built in such a way that it's not grounded when touching metal.

ches111

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2006
It looks like they built in the standoffs (those little brass nuts :)).

Those raised areas should correspond with the holes on your MB..

Does the manual say anything about where the other two standoffs go?

They might have a couple of locations that are not pre-raised.

Also, before trusting in a NO-Standoff application... try and verify using a piece of paper or paper strips that there is in fact clearances behind the board. No sense in finding out on power-up!!

GL

ches111

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2006
Also,

Not sure what system you are putting together but please be aware that the PSU rating is a bit low by todays standards....

If you are building a newer computer with newer components then please beware that PSU. 300W will not do...

Nysze

Distinguished
Jun 9, 2006