b29

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2006
I've got some knowledge on how a PC works but I've never built a system from scratch. However, I'm tired of the POS comp's that I've bought in the past (from Compaq and Dell). The one from Dell wouldn't even let me use and AGP video card, it had only PCI slots on the motherboard.

SO...I want to expand my knowledge a bit and build my own PC. Primary use will be gaming, especially MMO's with some FPSers on the side. I play around a little with photo editors, but am not too concerned for storage space as I don't do any heavy downloading. Ideally, I'd like to build something that I won't have to touch for 3 years and still be able to play everything with all the bells and whistles. I can fork up ~$2000 for everything.

mesarectifier

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006
Search the forum for someone in a similar situation or ideally pick some stuff you like and then you can get some suggestions on improvements.

Ask yourself what feature you'd want to see in your next Dell and then pick out the components on newegg etc...

chased13

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2006
well im bored so ill give you somethin to work with

get a core2 duo e6600 (it is downright awesome

get 2gb of corsair ddr2 xms with the 444 timings

there are a few decent mobos, others can advise you here

x1900xt

antec p180 case

get a good psu from antec fsp seasonic (name brand)

i dont really think you need a soundcard but the auzentech xplosion always works or creative xfi

for the hdds get a sata around 320 gig (best space/price ratio right now)

overall it sounds like you havent bought a computer lately, as your needs could proably be met at around 900$ things like the e6600 that fit in 2000$ budgets are great but you can get much better VALUE in a 900$ system

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004