Sign in with
Your question

Stock E6300 and Thermal Paste?

Last response: in CPUs
August 11, 2006 3:52:47 PM

My E6300 just came today. i'm new to building comps, so i'm just makin sure of sumthing. It didnt' come of thermal paste, am i supposed to buy new thermal paste and apply it if i plan on using the stock heatsink and fan. or is there alrdy a thermalistic material on the bottom of the heatsink and fan?
August 11, 2006 4:28:11 PM

Quote:
My E6300 just came today. i'm new to building comps, so i'm just makin sure of sumthing. It didnt' come of thermal paste, am i supposed to buy new thermal paste and apply it if i plan on using the stock heatsink and fan. or is there alrdy a thermalistic material on the bottom of the heatsink and fan?

if you look at the bottom of the heatsink and all you see is a shiny copper circle, then it has no thermal compound and you'll need to add some. i recommend arctic silver 5.
August 11, 2006 4:46:44 PM

Have others got their packages and recived the compound in it, or do I also need to get it. I ordered the retail box, E6600.

Thanks.
Related resources
August 11, 2006 5:07:12 PM

Personally, I'm a bit pissed off with the box sets. I'm going to give the stock cooler a try... I'm using the Intel D975XBX motherboard, and they say to make sure that you use a hsf which provides omni-directional airflow, so that the voltage regulators stay cool. Most heatsinks you find do not provide that, so for now I'm going to give the stock hsf a shot and see how it does. There's no way in hell I'm using the crap thermal paste Intel provides, however.