Noob Compatibility Help :(

pcriminal

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2006
This is my first time building my own computer, so I'm having doubts about quality and compatibility. I've compiled a list of the items I'm thinking about getting, and I would really appreciate it if someone would help me look them over and rate / criticize / change what you can to make it better. I'm trying to be a little cost efficient, so please keep that in mind xD

Here is the rig as is:

NZXT Nemesis Elite
Antec TruepowerII TPII-550
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MSI P965 Neo-F Socket T
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Sapphire Radeon X1800XT 256 MB
OCZ DDR2 2GB PC2-6400
2x Seagate 400GB 7200 RPM 16MB Buffer

Please let me know if I'm missing something crucial or important, or if there is a compatibility issue! The total is under 1400 without shipping and tax, so please keep that in mind! Thank you all in advance!

Mr_Breeze

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2006
The processor you want comes with a fan and heatsink, and the Case comes with a power supply. Unless you have a reason for buying extras you should drop those from the list. Everything looks compatible. /Edit I would go with a cheaper case and get better components.

Mr_Breeze

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2006
Yes it's better, but does he need it? Considering his components.. I think no.

/edit If he want's to buy a PSU he should get a cheep case that doesn't include one. You can buy the same processor at tigerdirect for less http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2341557&CatId=2398

And if you want to pick out your own fan and heatsink buy the OEM version that doesn't include it http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2280515&CatId=2397

pcriminal

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2006