building a file server

saorsa

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2006
I have three 250Gb IDE hard drives left over from some upgrades and was thinking of putting together some sort of file server to store music, video and other communal files for my SOHO network.

I have never built a server before, so I'm hoping someone can point me in the direction of a File servers for dummies site or failing that, give me some tips for dos and dont re which software to use, levels of processing power required, whether I need to use Raid and if so, what type of Raid I need. I've built and upgraded a few PCs, but nothing like this, so any help would be cool.

thanks

saorsa

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2006
Yes, just a file server. For software, is Windows server the best bet, or is there some linux derivative that will be better for the job, or is plain old XP fine? My network is all XP home/Pro and I dont know much about linux (yet)

drcroubie

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2006
Depending on how many, how big, how often, etc, you'd want files, even anything down to a Pentium3 could suffice (of course, rarely found is a P3 mobo with RAID onboard).

As for RAID, i'd be looking at RAID 5, if you can, and if you can afford the lower-capacity. Also, choose wisely now, as you'll need to back up Everything if you want to change raid levels later. RAID-0 won't give you any performance benefit if you've got a 10/100 card or switch, it *may* be faster if you've got Gigabit all the way though.

1GB of ram may be a bit of overkill, but then again, 512 may not be enough, especially if running Win (i've only ever used NT4 server, i'll assume 2003server is just as ram-hungry as XP).