Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

setting up and configuring dns server on my windows 2000 box

Tags:
  • Servers
  • Windows
Last response: in Windows 2000/NT
Anonymous
July 20, 2004 12:23:33 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

Hello,

I have installed dns services and I have had no luck
configuring the server. I can access the domains that I
am hosting on the same machine via ip adddress but not via
domain name. I currently have a win2k server and 3
workstations. The way that I have things setup is that I
have my cable modem plugged in to the uplink of my switch
and then I have my router plugged in to the switch as well
as a secondary nic for the internal lan on my win2k
machine which I am using as a print server. Given all
that, I just cannot seem to get things to resolve
correctly. All of the domains are pointing to
ns1.globeqc.com and ns2.globeqc.com I am not sure how
mangeld my current configuration is bu i would really
appreciate any kind of help at this point. Note, I am
hosting 3 websits on this windows 2000 server. Please
help... Thank you

Best regards,

Kevin J. Cantin
kcantin@veionline.com

More about : setting configuring dns server windows 2000 box

Anonymous
July 20, 2004 4:22:33 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

Kevin,

I know your description makes sense coming from you, but because we are so
far away from you, it's a bit hard for us to follow the "DNS" part. Why
don't we start with a brief description of your DNS configuration. The Name
of the Server the DNS is installed on, the name of your domain, ipconfig
/all from the DNS server AND a client. Then let's progress to describing
what you want to do with DNS.

You say you host 3 Domains, and "All of the domains are pointing to
ns1.globeqc.com and ns2.globeqc.com". What is the relationship between
"ns1.globeqc.com/ ns2.globeqc.com" and YOUR internal domain (i.e. the domain
where the DNS server is physically joined to).

We may then need to progress up to you DSL/Switch configuration part, but
let's start easy first.

--
Sincerely,

Dèjì Akómöláfé, MCSE MCSA MCP+I
Microsoft MVP - Directory Services
www.readymaids.com - COMPLETE SPAM Protection
www.akomolafe.com
Do you now realize that Today is the Tomorrow you were worried about
Yesterday? -anon


"Kevin Cantin" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:03f201c46e08$f00f3a20$a301280a@phx.gbl...
> Hello,
>
> I have installed dns services and I have had no luck
> configuring the server. I can access the domains that I
> am hosting on the same machine via ip adddress but not via
> domain name. I currently have a win2k server and 3
> workstations. The way that I have things setup is that I
> have my cable modem plugged in to the uplink of my switch
> and then I have my router plugged in to the switch as well
> as a secondary nic for the internal lan on my win2k
> machine which I am using as a print server. Given all
> that, I just cannot seem to get things to resolve
> correctly. All of the domains are pointing to
> ns1.globeqc.com and ns2.globeqc.com I am not sure how
> mangeld my current configuration is bu i would really
> appreciate any kind of help at this point. Note, I am
> hosting 3 websits on this windows 2000 server. Please
> help... Thank you
>
> Best regards,
>
> Kevin J. Cantin
> kcantin@veionline.com
>
Anonymous
July 20, 2004 11:19:34 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

Hello Dèjì Akómöláfé,

First off I want to thank you for your reply. I certainly
hope that you will be able to help me resolve this
frustrating situation. I will do my best t oanswer your
questions accuratley. Answers are posted below your
questions to make for easier reading.

>-----Original Message-----
>Kevin,
>
>I know your description makes sense coming from you, but
because we are so
>far away from you, it's a bit hard for us to follow
the "DNS" part. Why
>don't we start with a brief description of your DNS
configuration. The Name
>of the Server the DNS is installed on,

[Kevin>>]The FULL COMPUTER NAME is listed
as "ns1.globeqc.com"

the name of your domain,

[Kevin>>] Under NETWORK IDENTIFICATION the computer is a
MEMBER OF: "WORKGROUP" not "DOMAIN". The registered
domain on the internet that I registered through
godaddy.com is "GLOBEQC.COM". I hope this helps.

ipconfig
>/all from the DNS server

[Kevin>>] C:\Documents and
Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ns1
Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . : globeqc.com
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : globeqc.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200WL
PCI Fast
ter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-08-A1-28-2D-
28
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel 8255x-
based PCI E
er (10/100)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-D0-B7-B7-0F-
FD
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.229
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.250
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.240
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.242
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.254
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.173.3.249
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.241
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.235
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.235
63.172.3.236

AND a client.


[Kevin>>] C:\Documents and
Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : eagle3
Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200WL
PCI Fast Ethernet Ada
ter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-AD-0C-B3-
28
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.235
63.172.3.236
24.223.0.5
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July
19, 2004 10:47:48 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July
20, 2004 10:47:48 PM

Then let's progress to describing
>what you want to do with DNS.
>
>You say you host 3 Domains, and "All of the domains are
pointing to
>ns1.globeqc.com and ns2.globeqc.com". What is the
relationship between
>"ns1.globeqc.com/ ns2.globeqc.com" and YOUR internal
domain (i.e. the domain
>where the DNS server is physically joined to).

[Kevin>>] Ok, I will do my very best to answer these
questions accuratley. That is correct that all 3 domains
point to "ns1.globeqc.com"/ "ns2.globeqc.com". The
relationship between "ns1.globeqc.com"/ "ns2.globeqc.com"
and MY internal domain where t he dns server is joined to
is NULL. Honestly, I am just confused about whether I
need to set up the windows 2000 server as a member of
a "workgroup" or a "domain". Currently, it is setup as
a "workgroup" and again the full computer name
is "ns1.globeqc.com". Is this the first item that must
change?

>
>We may then need to progress up to you DSL/Switch
configuration part, but
>let's start easy first.

[Kevin>>] Ok, I hope my answers make sense I am anxiously
awaiting your response. One last note, I did setup "DNS
SERVICES" so I do have "DNS" listed in the control panel
under "Administrative Tools". I have also attempted to
configure the dns server but, I am not sure if it is
configured correctly. Thanks for all the help so far...

Best regards,

Kevin J. Cantin (Who prays taht this issue gets resolved
today)

kcantin@veionline.com
989-836-0832

>
>--
>Sincerely,
>
>Dèjì Akómöláfé, MCSE MCSA MCP+I
>Microsoft MVP - Directory Services
>www.readymaids.com - COMPLETE SPAM Protection
>www.akomolafe.com
>Do you now realize that Today is the Tomorrow you were
worried about
>Yesterday? -anon
>
>
>"Kevin Cantin" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote in message
>news:03f201c46e08$f00f3a20$a301280a@phx.gbl...
>> Hello,
>>
>> I have installed dns services and I have had no luck
>> configuring the server. I can access the domains that I
>> am hosting on the same machine via ip adddress but not
via
>> domain name. I currently have a win2k server and 3
>> workstations. The way that I have things setup is that
I
>> have my cable modem plugged in to the uplink of my
switch
>> and then I have my router plugged in to the switch as
well
>> as a secondary nic for the internal lan on my win2k
>> machine which I am using as a print server. Given all
>> that, I just cannot seem to get things to resolve
>> correctly. All of the domains are pointing to
>> ns1.globeqc.com and ns2.globeqc.com I am not sure how
>> mangeld my current configuration is bu i would really
>> appreciate any kind of help at this point. Note, I am
>> hosting 3 websits on this windows 2000 server. Please
>> help... Thank you
>>
>> Best regards,
>>
>> Kevin J. Cantin
>> kcantin@veionline.com
>>
>
>
>.
>
Related resources
Anonymous
July 20, 2004 2:12:51 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

In news:03f201c46e08$f00f3a20$a301280a@phx.gbl,
Kevin Cantin <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> posted a question
Then Kevin replied below:
> Hello,
>
> I have installed dns services and I have had no luck
> configuring the server. I can access the domains that I
> am hosting on the same machine via ip adddress but not via
> domain name. I currently have a win2k server and 3
> workstations. The way that I have things setup is that I
> have my cable modem plugged in to the uplink of my switch
> and then I have my router plugged in to the switch as well
> as a secondary nic for the internal lan on my win2k
> machine which I am using as a print server. Given all
> that, I just cannot seem to get things to resolve
> correctly. All of the domains are pointing to
> ns1.globeqc.com and ns2.globeqc.com I am not sure how
> mangeld my current configuration is bu i would really
> appreciate any kind of help at this point. Note, I am
> hosting 3 websits on this windows 2000 server. Please
> help... Thank you
>
> Best regards,
>
> Kevin J. Cantin
> kcantin@veionline.com

First you need to fix globeqc.com on ns1.globeqc.com, it answers lame so
apparently it has no zone, ns2.globeqc.com does not respond at all for any
queries. You need this zone set up properly so you have glue for your
nameservers, make sure there are no records with private IPs in any of your
public zones.
http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=glob...


I am able to query the DNS ns1.globeqc.com but it does not have a zone for
globeqc.com and queries the root for it:
opcode: Query, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 42
flags: qr aa; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

QUESTION SECTION:
globqc.com. IN ANY

AUTHORITY SECTION:
com. 172800 IN SOA a.gtld-servers.net.
nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1090255558 1800 900 604800 900

As for as making this into a domain controller, I wouldn't suggest that,
especially this machine, or the machine NS2.
You can make them members of a domain if you want to set up another machine
as a domain controller so you can have a centralized user database. Making
DCs out of your public DNS servers is going to create a major headache for
you. This is because of the way DCs must register there addresses in DNS,
also if you plan on creating an AD Domain you need to name its domain
something other than your public name.

--
Best regards,
Kevin D4 Dad Goodknecht Sr. [MVP]
Hope This Helps
============================
--
When responding to posts, please "Reply to Group" via your
newsreader so that others may learn and benefit from your
issue. To respond directly to me remove the nospam. from my
email. ==========================================
http://www.lonestaramerica.com/
==========================================
Use Outlook Express?... Get OE_Quotefix:
It will strip signature out and more
http://home.in.tum.de/~jain/software/oe-quotefix/
==========================================
Keep a back up of your OE settings and folders with
OEBackup:
http://www.oehelp.com/OEBackup/Default.aspx
==========================================
Anonymous
July 20, 2004 2:12:52 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

Kevin,

Thank you for your expidicious response. With my
permission, is it possible that you could connect to my
server remotley via terminal services or remote desktop
and help me out with the configurations? I would be more
than willing to set you up a temporary account. I am just
not sure how to do all that you are recommending. The Ip
to ns1.globeqc.com is 63.172.3.235. I look ofrward to
your reply...

Best regards,

Kevin J. Cantin
kcantin@veionline.com

>-----Original Message-----
>In news:03f201c46e08$f00f3a20$a301280a@phx.gbl,
>Kevin Cantin <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> posted
a question
>Then Kevin replied below:
>> Hello,
>>
>> I have installed dns services and I have had no luck
>> configuring the server. I can access the domains that I
>> am hosting on the same machine via ip adddress but not
via
>> domain name. I currently have a win2k server and 3
>> workstations. The way that I have things setup is that
I
>> have my cable modem plugged in to the uplink of my
switch
>> and then I have my router plugged in to the switch as
well
>> as a secondary nic for the internal lan on my win2k
>> machine which I am using as a print server. Given all
>> that, I just cannot seem to get things to resolve
>> correctly. All of the domains are pointing to
>> ns1.globeqc.com and ns2.globeqc.com I am not sure how
>> mangeld my current configuration is bu i would really
>> appreciate any kind of help at this point. Note, I am
>> hosting 3 websits on this windows 2000 server. Please
>> help... Thank you
>>
>> Best regards,
>>
>> Kevin J. Cantin
>> kcantin@veionline.com
>
>First you need to fix globeqc.com on ns1.globeqc.com, it
answers lame so
>apparently it has no zone, ns2.globeqc.com does not
respond at all for any
>queries. You need this zone set up properly so you have
glue for your
>nameservers, make sure there are no records with private
IPs in any of your
>public zones.
>http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?
domain=globeqc.com
>
>
>I am able to query the DNS ns1.globeqc.com but it does
not have a zone for
>globeqc.com and queries the root for it:
>opcode: Query, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 42
>flags: qr aa; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1,
ADDITIONAL: 0
>
>QUESTION SECTION:
>globqc.com. IN ANY
>
>AUTHORITY SECTION:
>com. 172800 IN SOA a.gtld-
servers.net.
>nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1090255558 1800 900 604800 900
>
>As for as making this into a domain controller, I
wouldn't suggest that,
>especially this machine, or the machine NS2.
>You can make them members of a domain if you want to set
up another machine
>as a domain controller so you can have a centralized user
database. Making
>DCs out of your public DNS servers is going to create a
major headache for
>you. This is because of the way DCs must register there
addresses in DNS,
>also if you plan on creating an AD Domain you need to
name its domain
>something other than your public name.
>
>--
>Best regards,
>Kevin D4 Dad Goodknecht Sr. [MVP]
>Hope This Helps
>============================
>--
>When responding to posts, please "Reply to Group" via
your
>newsreader so that others may learn and benefit from your
>issue. To respond directly to me remove the nospam. from
my
>email. ==========================================
> http://www.lonestaramerica.com/
>==========================================
>Use Outlook Express?... Get OE_Quotefix:
>It will strip signature out and more
> http://home.in.tum.de/~jain/software/oe-quotefix/
>==========================================
>Keep a back up of your OE settings and folders with
>OEBackup:
> http://www.oehelp.com/OEBackup/Default.aspx
>==========================================
>
>
>.
>
Anonymous
July 23, 2004 3:10:37 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

In news:083a01c46e64$950f7660$a401280a@phx.gbl,
anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com>
asked for help and I offered my suggestions below:
> Hello Dèjì Akómöláfé,
>
> First off I want to thank you for your reply. I certainly
> hope that you will be able to help me resolve this
> frustrating situation. I will do my best t oanswer your
> questions accuratley. Answers are posted below your
> questions to make for easier reading.
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> Kevin,
>>
>> I know your description makes sense coming from you, but because we
>> are so far away from you, it's a bit hard for us to follow
> the "DNS" part. Why
>> don't we start with a brief description of your DNS configuration.
>> The Name of the Server the DNS is installed on,
>
> [Kevin>>]The FULL COMPUTER NAME is listed
> as "ns1.globeqc.com"
>
> the name of your domain,
>
> [Kevin>>] Under NETWORK IDENTIFICATION the computer is a
> MEMBER OF: "WORKGROUP" not "DOMAIN". The registered
> domain on the internet that I registered through
> godaddy.com is "GLOBEQC.COM". I hope this helps.
>
> ipconfig
>> /all from the DNS server
>
> [Kevin>>] C:\Documents and
> Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all
>
> Windows 2000 IP Configuration
>
> Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ns1
> Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . : globeqc.com
> Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
> IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
> WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
> DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : globeqc.com
>
> Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
>
> Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
> Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200WL
> PCI Fast
> ter
> Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-08-A1-28-2D-
> 28
> DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
> Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
> DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1
>
> Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
>
> Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
> Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel 8255x-
> based PCI E
> er (10/100)
> Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-D0-B7-B7-0F-
> FD
> DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.229
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.250
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.240
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.242
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.254
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.173.3.249
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.241
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.224
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.235
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
> Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.1
> DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.235
> 63.172.3.236
>
> AND a client.
>
>
> [Kevin>>] C:\Documents and
> Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all
>
> Windows 2000 IP Configuration
>
> Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : eagle3
> Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . :
> Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
> IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
> WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
>
> Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
>
> Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
> Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200WL
> PCI Fast Ethernet Ada
> ter
> Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-AD-0C-B3-
> 28
> DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
> Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
> Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
> DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
> DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 63.172.3.235
> 63.172.3.236
> 24.223.0.5
> Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July
> 19, 2004 10:47:48 PM
> Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July
> 20, 2004 10:47:48 PM
>

Wow, may I ask why all the IP addresses? DNS servers, being what they are,
really need to be configured with one address so they are accessible by
clients. Not sure why to configure all of these. Even if you were to be
hosting websites, that would be done on the webserver, unless this is a
webserver?

Need to ask, if I may, are you hosting your websites on your machines or are
they being hosted elsewhere?
Did your cable company give you all these addresses?

I see that you have NAT. Is this DNS server performing NAT or is the router
you have plugged into your cable modem performing NAT? Or both are? I cannot
see that the router is performing NAT since you have all those public IPs
configured on your NIC. There is no reason I can see from here that needs
all those IPs on the outside interface, esepcially if the outside of this
interface is a private network that is on the inside of your router. Make
sense?

For this:
> DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1
Change it to the actual IP address, which is according to your ipconfig,
192.168.1.105.

Remove any references to any external DNS addresses, such as remove that
24.223.0.5 number. If you are going to use your own DNS, then you need to
only specify your DNS. The other 63.172.x.x are yours, but I would
re-evaluate this scenario. Maybe when Kevin remotes in he can explain what's
going on for you and the why's and why not's.


--
Regards,
Ace

Please direct all replies ONLY to the Microsoft public newsgroups
so all can benefit.

This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees
and confers no rights.

Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSE+I, MCT, MVP
Microsoft Windows MVP - Windows Server - Directory Services

Security Is Like An Onion, It Has Layers
HAM AND EGGS: A day's work for a chicken;
A lifetime commitment for a pig.
--
=================================