Sign in with
Your question

2x320gb RAID 0 or 2x80gb RAID 0 with a 320gb hd for storage?

Last response: in Storage
August 14, 2006 1:48:21 AM

I am new to RAID and want to run RAID 0 on the new pc i build. I have an Abit AB9 Pro Motherboard that can run RAID 0 and many others.

I already own a Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive and I am going to use it for my new pc i am building.

I was thinking that it would be faster to go with the 80gig RAID because 160gbs is plunty for a C:/ and i think it may be a little faster than the 320s because the hard drive wont have to seek as much even though the data is closer together on the 320s.

Also if i went with the 320s (just buying another Seagate 320) then i could risk loosing all of my data because I will be using RAID 0. But if I went with the 320s then i would have more than half a terabyte of storage!

I would not care too much if a drive failed on the operating system and apps RAID with the 2x80gb hard drives because I can just reformat, because with 2x80gb hard drives in RAID 0 i would be using the 320 I have for backup, and the only thing i care about mostly is my Music Collection, 63gigs :)  (11,200 songs) and my videos, movies, ect.

So my question is, which would be faster?...the 2x80gig for the C Drive in RAID 0 and the 320 for backup or 2x320gbs in RAID 0 partitioned for C drive to be 80gigs and the D drive to be 560gigs (risking loosing everything if one drive fails). And which one should I go for?...I dont care much about loosing anything on the C drive, just the music and stuff on the backup drive(D: Drive).

Please Share your opinions, knowledge, ect.

August 15, 2006 5:35:46 PM