How far can E6300 oc on stock cooling?

Generals

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2006
hi anyone know how far the E6300 can go on stock cooling?

any tips on what ram and mobo to use?

i would prefer oc by increasing the fsb of the processor. without increasing voltages and stuff. also with stock cooling only.

if it can easily go above 2.4ghz, it would be a very good buy against E6600!

maverick7

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2006
im not sure how far u can oc a cpu without increasing the voltage... you have to remember that each processor is different. some will oc really well, while other wont do much at all. its all in the luck of the draw my friend.

and btw the E6600 has a larger cache and is made a bit different. so even if u got ur card up to 2.4, the E6600 would still be faster.

Generals

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2006
im new to oc'ings but found it very interesting.

was wondering how it is done. correct me if i am wrong...

1st step is to slowly increase the fsb of the processor, my question is how do you know when to add a voltage increase? what are the things that will happen to let you know?

how do you know you reached a ceiling performance and can no longer go faster?

can you just use "value select" rams and use them on a system that you will overclock?

lastly, any guides for beginners on overclocking E6300?

thanks

Generals

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2006
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2802&p=2

I found this article. It might be helpful to you.
They reach 2.592GHz using a 370MHz FSB at 1.400V (up from 1.320V stock)
Maybe without increasing the voltage you might hit 2.4Ghz.

have a look at this;
http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/cpu/intel/Core2DuoLaunch/6300OC/e6300oc.gif

thanks for the informative site. by the way, think the 2nd link has a problem. i cant seem to visit it.

1. during overclock, (bec i never tried oc'ing) what happens when you hit an fsb that the processor cant operate on anymore? does it hang or wont start?