power supply cables?

howuncreative

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2006
DSC02014.jpg

this is my first build and i have no idea how to connect these things. do i use only one cable for each component, or can i just use one cable to connect everything. my case's fan is also kind of strange:
DSC02015.jpg

im pretty sure that isn't the normal port. which one do i use and how does it figure out its fan speed without being directly connected to the motherboard?

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004
Ok list of power cables...

1. 24 or 20 pin power cable to motherboard
2. 4 or 8 pin for cpu (should be top left of cpu)
3. 6 pin pci-e cable for video cards
4. 4 pin molex for hdd's, optical drives and fans (some other peripherals as well like fan controllers
5. flat black power cable to hdd's, typically those that are sata
6. 3 pin for fans

The first 3 are easy as they will only fit into one thing, you may have to use a 8 to 4 pin adaptor if your cpu takes a 4 pin and your psu comes with an 8 pin (adaptor should be included)

Newer hdd's typically use the black flat power that is right beside the sata connector, some take either the black flat one or a 4 pin (big white one). Use only one of these NOT both.

Fans:
1.If your fans only have the 4 pin molex for power then you have to connect them to the psu that way and they will run at max rpms all the time. Or you can buy a fan controller to power the fan and control the rpms.
2.If it has a 3 pin with yellow black and red wires then you can connect that to the motherboard to controll it from bios.
3.Some psu's have a special 4 pin molex where the psu can control the rpms based on heat.
4.Some fans have both the 4 pin molex and a 3 pin sensor (yellow wire only), you have to use the 4 pin molex for power and connect the 3 pin to the motherboard so that you can monitor it's rpms (don't have to connect the 3 pin if you don't want to).