Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Setting up a DNS for a client om my server 2003

Last response: in Windows 2000/NT
Share
Anonymous
August 13, 2004 11:12:21 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

I am running M/S 2003 server and have installed DNS server. My primary
DNS is the name of the computer. I want to host another site and use my
DNS server to create a name server that will point there domain to my
web server. Man is it complicated. I am running into words like Forward
Lookup, Zone Reverse Lookup Zones, Primary DNS, New Zones, NS records.
I really need a human being to tell me "here's what ya do. Ya open the
DNS snapin and do step 1, step 2 step 3". And list the steps I need to
take to be able to have another doamin name run on my server. Example
primary domain silvereagledesign.com and add wvabate.com



--
jayirvin
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.webservertalk.com
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.webservertalk.com/message349103.html
Anonymous
August 14, 2004 1:29:51 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

"jayirvin" <jayirvin.1ay89e@mail.webservertalk.com> wrote in message
news:jayirvin.1ay89e@mail.webservertalk.com...
>
> I am running M/S 2003 server and have installed DNS server. My primary
> DNS is the name of the computer. I want to host another site and use my
> DNS server to create a name server that will point there domain to my
> web server. Man is it complicated.

No, actually it is pretty simple if you use the GUI, but before you
go very far let's do a reality check:

If this is for public consumption on the Internet you should let your
REGISTAR(s) hold your DNS.

Small companies and individuals are better off not bothering with
their own PUBLIC DNS servers -- you are supposed to have TWO
different ones anyway.

> I am running into words like Forward Lookup

That holds the Address records and you NEED that for each domain.

> Zone Reverse Lookup Zones

That holds Reverse or PTR records and map the IP back to a name.
Most people don't even need this except may for email purposes and
this is almost ALWAYS held at the ISP.

> Primary DNS

The DNS server where you change the records (aka, the Master)

> New Zones,

A zone is just a file (or storage) for a bunch of DNS records in
the same domain.

> NS records.

Record that names the name server (NS) for a zone.

> I really need a human being to tell me "here's what ya do. Ya open the
> DNS snapin and do step 1, step 2 step 3".

Hit help and search for [ DNS server checklist ] (really)

Right click on the Server in the GUI, and select NEW domain.
Then add A-Host records the same way for things like "www"

> And list the steps I need to
> take to be able to have another doamin name run on my server.

Repeat previous steps from "Right click...."

> Example
> primary domain silvereagledesign.com and add wvabate.com

You do realize that for PUBLIC DNS on the Internet you must
go to the REGISTAR and have them set your "delegation" records
to YOUR DNS servers -- part of the reason you really ought to
leave DNS with the registrar anyway.



--
Herb Martin


>
>
>
> --
> jayirvin
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Posted via http://www.webservertalk.com
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> View this thread: http://www.webservertalk.com/message349103.html
>
Anonymous
August 14, 2004 5:17:43 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

jayirvin wrote:
> *I am running M/S 2003 server and have installed DNS server. My
> primary DNS is the name of the computer. I want to host another site
> and use my DNS server to create a name server that will point there
> domain to my web server. Man is it complicated. I am running into
> words like Forward Lookup, Zone Reverse Lookup Zones, Primary DNS,
> New Zones, NS records. I really need a human being to tell me "here's
> what ya do. Ya open the DNS snapin and do step 1, step 2 step 3". And
> list the steps I need to take to be able to have another doamin name
> run on my server. Example primary domain silvereagledesign.com and
> add wvabate.com *
I'm all for leaving the dns with the registrar. However at my
registrar, goodady.com I have to put in a nameserver to have my domain
name point to my ip address and I am using my ISP.s So if If I want to
host someones site like my ABATE group I have no name server for them
to put in with there registrar. I could only have there DNS forword to
my server and mask the DNS so I have searched very long and hard to
find out how to get a name server to put in with the registrar and the
only way I found was to use a DNS server



--
jayirvin
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.webservertalk.com
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.webservertalk.com/message349103.html
Related resources
Anonymous
August 16, 2004 4:05:57 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

In news:jayirvin.1b02x8@mail.webservertalk.com,
jayirvin <jayirvin.1b02x8@mail.webservertalk.com> made a post then I
commented below
> jayirvin wrote:
>> *I am running M/S 2003 server and have installed DNS server. My
>> primary DNS is the name of the computer. I want to host another site
>> and use my DNS server to create a name server that will point there
>> domain to my web server. Man is it complicated. I am running into
>> words like Forward Lookup, Zone Reverse Lookup Zones, Primary DNS,
>> New Zones, NS records. I really need a human being to tell me "here's
>> what ya do. Ya open the DNS snapin and do step 1, step 2 step 3". And
>> list the steps I need to take to be able to have another doamin name
>> run on my server. Example primary domain silvereagledesign.com and
>> add wvabate.com *
> I'm all for leaving the dns with the registrar. However at my
> registrar, goodady.com I have to put in a nameserver to have my domain
> name point to my ip address and I am using my ISP.s So if If I want to
> host someones site like my ABATE group I have no name server for them
> to put in with there registrar. I could only have there DNS forword to
> my server and mask the DNS so I have searched very long and hard to
> find out how to get a name server to put in with the registrar and the
> only way I found was to use a DNS server

Usually when you register, no matter what company you do this with, they
offer nameserver services. If you registered your domain name at Network
Solution, let's say, they will then be the nameserver on record. If you
registered at GoDaddy, then they would be the nameserver on record. If you
want to host someone else's domain, then it will need to transferred from
whomever is hosting it to wherever you want to host it. If you want GoDaddy
to host the ABATE site, and the nameserver is still sitting at the original
registration company, you can go to them and change the www pointer to
GoDaddy's web servicers.

--
Regards,
Ace

Please direct all replies ONLY to the Microsoft public newsgroups
so all can benefit.

This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees
and confers no rights.

Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSE+I, MCT, MVP
Microsoft Windows MVP - Windows Server - Directory Services

Security Is Like An Onion, It Has Layers
HAM AND EGGS: A day's work for a chicken;
A lifetime commitment for a pig.
--
=================================
Anonymous
August 16, 2004 2:32:35 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

"Ace Fekay [MVP]"
<PleaseSubstituteMyActualFirstName&LastNameHere@hotmail.com> wrote in
message news:#VbeYZ0gEHA.2492@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> In news:jayirvin.1b02x8@mail.webservertalk.com,
> jayirvin <jayirvin.1b02x8@mail.webservertalk.com> made a post then I

> Usually when you register, no matter what company you do this with, they
> offer nameserver services. If you registered your domain name at Network
> Solution, let's say, they will then be the nameserver on record. If you
> registered at GoDaddy, then they would be the nameserver on record. If you
> want to host someone else's domain, then it will need to transferred from
> whomever is hosting it to wherever you want to host it. If you want
GoDaddy
> to host the ABATE site, and the nameserver is still sitting at the
original
> registration company, you can go to them and change the www pointer to
> GoDaddy's web servicers.

Ace is correct....

And what I have been saying is that it is a BAD IDEA to
transfer your DNS from a (reputable) Registrar - leave it
with them or find a good one to move it to.

A DNS management web page for your public DNS is
usually included for the cost of your yearly registration.

--
Herb Martin


> commented below
> > jayirvin wrote:
> >> *I am running M/S 2003 server and have installed DNS server. My
> >> primary DNS is the name of the computer. I want to host another site
> >> and use my DNS server to create a name server that will point there
> >> domain to my web server. Man is it complicated. I am running into
> >> words like Forward Lookup, Zone Reverse Lookup Zones, Primary DNS,
> >> New Zones, NS records. I really need a human being to tell me "here's
> >> what ya do. Ya open the DNS snapin and do step 1, step 2 step 3". And
> >> list the steps I need to take to be able to have another doamin name
> >> run on my server. Example primary domain silvereagledesign.com and
> >> add wvabate.com *
> > I'm all for leaving the dns with the registrar. However at my
> > registrar, goodady.com I have to put in a nameserver to have my domain
> > name point to my ip address and I am using my ISP.s So if If I want to
> > host someones site like my ABATE group I have no name server for them
> > to put in with there registrar. I could only have there DNS forword to
> > my server and mask the DNS so I have searched very long and hard to
> > find out how to get a name server to put in with the registrar and the
> > only way I found was to use a DNS server
>
> Usually when you register, no matter what company you do this with, they
> offer nameserver services. If you registered your domain name at Network
> Solution, let's say, they will then be the nameserver on record. If you
> registered at GoDaddy, then they would be the nameserver on record. If you
> want to host someone else's domain, then it will need to transferred from
> whomever is hosting it to wherever you want to host it. If you want
GoDaddy
> to host the ABATE site, and the nameserver is still sitting at the
original
> registration company, you can go to them and change the www pointer to
> GoDaddy's web servicers.
>
> --
> Regards,
> Ace
>
> Please direct all replies ONLY to the Microsoft public newsgroups
> so all can benefit.
>
> This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees
> and confers no rights.
>
> Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSE+I, MCT, MVP
> Microsoft Windows MVP - Windows Server - Directory Services
>
> Security Is Like An Onion, It Has Layers
> HAM AND EGGS: A day's work for a chicken;
> A lifetime commitment for a pig.
> --
> =================================
>
>
Anonymous
August 16, 2004 6:05:43 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

Ace Fekay [MVP] wrote:
> *In news:jayirvin.1b02x8@mail.webservertalk.com,
> jayirvin <jayirvin.1b02x8@mail.webservertalk.com> made a post then I
> commented below
> > jayirvin wrote:
> > I'm all for leaving the dns with the registrar. However at my
> > registrar, goodady.com I have to put in a nameserver to have my
> domain
> > name point to my ip address and I am using my ISP.s So if If I want
> to
> > host someones site like my ABATE group I have no name server for
> them
> > to put in with there registrar. I could only have there DNS forword
> to
> > my server and mask the DNS so I have searched very long and hard
> to
> > find out how to get a name server to put in with the registrar and
> the
> > only way I found was to use a DNS server
>
> Usually when you register, no matter what company you do this with,
> they
> offer nameserver services. If you registered your domain name at
> Network
> Solution, let's say, they will then be the nameserver on record. If
> you
> registered at GoDaddy, then they would be the nameserver on record.
> If you
> want to host someone else's domain, then it will need to transferred
> from
> whomever is hosting it to wherever you want to host it. If you want
> GoDaddy
> to host the ABATE site, and the nameserver is still sitting at the
> original
> registration company, you can go to them and change the www pointer
> to
> GoDaddy's web servicers.
>
> --
> Regards,
> Ace
>
> Please direct all replies ONLY to the Microsoft public newsgroups
> so all can benefit.
>
> This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees
> and confers no rights.
>
> Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSE+I, MCT, MVP
> Microsoft Windows MVP - Windows Server - Directory Services
>
> Security Is Like An Onion, It Has Layers
> HAM AND EGGS: A day's work for a chicken;
> A lifetime commitment for a pig.
> --
> ================================= *
Well with godady if they do not host your site you then have to use
there parked domain name server and set that to redirect. I tryed that
with one of my domains and only the home page had the registered domain
name and no the child pages.
For it to work the way I wanted I got my ISP to use there name servers
to point to my domain name and then entered there name servers at
godaddy. Mybe my ISP can point the ABATE domain to there name servers
also.



--
jayirvin
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.webservertalk.com
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.webservertalk.com/message349103.html
Anonymous
August 17, 2004 2:15:10 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.dns (More info?)

In news:jayirvin.1b3s9e@mail.webservertalk.com,
jayirvin <jayirvin.1b3s9e@mail.webservertalk.com> made a post then I
commented below
>> ================================= *
> Well with godady if they do not host your site you then have to use
> there parked domain name server and set that to redirect. I tryed that
> with one of my domains and only the home page had the registered
> domain name and no the child pages.
> For it to work the way I wanted I got my ISP to use there name servers
> to point to my domain name and then entered there name servers at
> godaddy. Mybe my ISP can point the ABATE domain to there name servers
> also.

Good idea. See if they will do that for you.


--
Regards,
Ace

Please direct all replies ONLY to the Microsoft public newsgroups
so all can benefit.

This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees
and confers no rights.

Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSE+I, MCT, MVP
Microsoft Windows MVP - Windows Server - Directory Services

Security Is Like An Onion, It Has Layers
HAM AND EGGS: A day's work for a chicken;
A lifetime commitment for a pig.
--
=================================
!