Help!!! Freezing solid in several games!

G

Hello,

I'm getting very frustrated with my upgraded computer; it freezes while playing several different games--locks up tighter than a chastity belt before prom night, necessitating a hard restart. Ugh! Within Windows, all works perfectly with ONE EXCEPTION: 3 times the system has similarly frozen, while burning a CD...but at no other time. CTRL+ALT+DEL doesn't work, NOTHING works.

Here's the info--I'm a serious long-time gamer who's also a hardware validation tech, so I see and get to play with a LOT of hardware, so I'm not a newbie:

Win 98 SE, brand new FDISK/FORMAT/reinstall after upgrading the system to a Duron 800 (stock speed--for now), 128 MB Micron PC-133 SDRAM, ABIT KT7A motherboard, ThermalTake SuperOrb HS/F, and heck, I even upgraded the power supply from a 235W unit to an Enermax 350W, dual-ball-bearing fan unit, thinking a lack of ample power was the problem

-ASUS V6600 (Pure) 32 MB video (NVidia GeForce 256); Detonator 6.50 drivers
-Sound Blaster Live! Value; drivers downloaded from web last week
-SMC network card
-Desktop resolution set to 1024x768x32, which is the same setting I usually play all my games at
-DirectX 8.0a downloaded and installed
-Games where freezing occurs: Quake 3, Crimson Skies, Unreal Tournament; sometimes within 10 minutes, sometimes after an hour and a half, but I can't remember the last time I actually exited the game the PROPER way (all games were updated with the latest patches)
-Motherboard Monitor 5.5 installed (though turned off during game-playing): CPU temp never exceeds 45 degrees Celsius
-Absolutely NO TSRs running in background (I'm very anal about this), all power-saving modes are turned off (to prevent problems while burning CDs), no screensaver in use either