AMD Single Core to Dual Core upgrade help

darthbrooklyn

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2006
Hello,

I currently have an AMD 3200+ and am upgrading to an Athlon X2 4400+.
They are socket 939 chips.. As a relative noob, i wanted to ask if there is anything i need to do besides just changing the chips out..
Do i need to play with the BIOS, OS, RAM, ETC ETC.. please forgive my noobish questions, but i dont want to fry my PC.. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

impreza

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2006
Hello,

They are socket 939 chips.. As a relative noob, i wanted to ask if there is anything i need to do besides just changing the chips out..
Do i need to play with the BIOS, OS, RAM, ETC ETC.. please forgive my noobish questions, but i dont want to fry my PC.. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
well i upgraded from a 3200 to a 4200 with out having to change anything.

Hello,

Thanks

We will need your system specs including what version of windows to help you out! :)

System Specs.

MSI-K8N Neo4 Mobo
2GB OCZ Platinum Dual Channel RAM
Powercolor X1900XTX Graphics Card
Windows XP Home
Antec 600W PS

Ah, okay all your hardware is fine, no worries there.
Windows XP Home *might* be a problem. Make sure before the swap you have Windows completely up to date with SP2.

Make sure to check and set your BIOS to defaults/auto-detect settings for the CPU and memory before you start your upgrade.

When you install the processor, the first time you boot into Windows you should get the message "new hardware detected" or something similar, then Windows will install the new software/drivers and ask you to reboot. After reboot you should have 2 CPU's in your Device Manager, and 2 graphs in Task Manager for CPU usage. If that does not happen, come back here and let us know.

darthbrooklyn

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2006
System Specs.

MSI-K8N Neo4 Mobo
Windows XP Home
Antec 600W PS

Ah, okay all your hardware is fine, no worries there.