Help - POST problem

bumblebee13

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2006
Ok, i've started my computer up for the first time and pressed delete to enter the bios - my computer then procceded to check all the hardware. As it flicked through the various components everything went fine untill i got to the hard-disk, i'll type out the messages leading up to it and the error message itself:

2048MB OK
USB DEVICE(s): 1 Hub
Auto-Detecting 4th Master . . IDE Hard Disk
4th Master: External Disk 0 RGL10364
Ultra DMA Mode-5 S.M.A.R.T Capable and Status OK
Auto-detecting USB Mass Storage Devices . .
00 USB mass storage devices found and configured.

4th Master Hard Disk Error
Press F1 to Resume

That's the message, there's a bit before wihch all seems fine but that's the run up to the disk error - i'm not too sure what to do now and as this is my first build am rather worrying.

The relevant (let me know if you need more details) components i have are an Asus P5W DH deluxe and 2 x Hitachi DeskStar 160GB SATA hard-drives.

Please help, thanks.

EDIT: Here are all components:

Antec P180
Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Corsair XMS2 800MHz C4 2GB
ATI Connect3D X1900XT 512MB
X-Fi Xtreme Music
Antec TruePower II 550W EPS
BenQ DW1650
Sony Floppy Drive
2 x 160GB Hitachi DeskStar - http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=235260 link if you want more info
Asus P5W DH Deluxe

The way i've connected the hard-drives is in this way:

If you look at this picture http://www.asus.com/999/images/products/1198/1198_l.jpg

You will see in the bottom left two SATA hard-drive ports - i connected my hard-drives, using 2 orange SATA cables provided with my mobo to each of these 'EZ Raid' ports - designed so you can easily make a Raid config.

If i need to be more precise :) the two orange ports are called 'EZ_RAID2' and 'EZ_RAID1' - the upper port in the picture being number 2.