Sign in with
Your question

Any computer engineers on this forum?

Last response: in CPUs
August 16, 2006 10:53:01 PM

does anybody in this forum work in computer engineering? or any other field where they develop computer components?

people around here seem to know a fair amout about the basic pieces of computer components, so i was wondering if anybody here actually works in that field

Partially because i want to know who to really trust on the forums :p 

but also somewhat because that is a field i may want to go into (insted of programming) and i want to know what it's like
August 16, 2006 11:00:22 PM

You learn who to trust by reading forum posts.
It's not what you do but who you are...
August 16, 2006 11:48:38 PM

I am a grad student working towards a PhD in Computer Engineering and I can tell you there are plenty of students in the classes with me and even individuals in the real work force I met during internships that knew less about computers than some I knew when they were back in grade school.
Related resources
August 16, 2006 11:48:45 PM

Im studyign CE, and all I can say is:

Computer Engineering >>>>>>> Computer Science

:p 

~prime
August 16, 2006 11:55:19 PM

Quote:

~prime

Bad engineer! all that's needed is '>>' to express "orders of magnitude greater"
August 17, 2006 12:01:00 AM

I am a Computer Engineer although I don't work in the industry since I just graduated. (However I did my fair amount of designing 8-bit processors at the lowest level, and I love it :D , especially when they run faster than the rest of the designs in my class :twisted: )

And I agree with NewF, having a degree in computer engineering or working in the field does not mean you know more stuff than anyone else. It just means that you know more stuff about the particular technology you are working on. I met high school kids that know a lot more about current technology and what is better compared to what than a lot of fellow engineers.
August 17, 2006 12:13:47 AM

Quote: