Overclocking Macbook

MacLover3541

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2006
hey everyone I'm kind of new to the whole overclocking thing but I was wondering could I overclock my macbook with the 2 ghz processor?

BrockSampson

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2006
hahahahahaha overclock a macbook?!? what for?!? hahahaha ok sorry, i really am sorry... but the guy before was right, overclocking a laptop is a bad idea, and is most likely completely impossible... well i wouldnt say that... im going to say its completely impossible to do right. You would have to use third-party software that would overclock your system... maybe... if it exists... for a mac... but... even if you could find that software and you were able to get it to work... your tiny little macbook would probably melt away because laptops have very restricted airflow. On my HP 9600 I used to UNDER clock it because it would get crazy loud from the fans trying to cool the GPU. I just strongly suggest you dont overclock a macbook, if it was even possible.

Educatedonthate

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2010
The lack of education on overclocking is what causes computers to melt and it seems that your reply did not give any incite into why he shouldnt besides the fact it could "melt". You shouldnt laugh at him because the only thing funny is your ignorance. He was seeking knowledge.