Sign in with
Your question

P180B DVD Writer installation - tips

Last response: in Systems
August 17, 2006 2:30:22 PM

Hi guys,

I'm getting the DVD Writer tonight, and read the manual last night on how to install the component. The manual isn't too helpful (I've never built a PC before).

My question is about the detachable drive rails that came separate in the box? How do you slide your DVD Writer into the socket with the drive rails? The manual says point them forward and then outward - that's it. If you just slide them in, they are loose and will fall out (without the DVD in it). Do you just use the DVD to support them? Cant the writer then just fall out if you tilt the machine or carry it to a LAN party?

I saw a picture on Google Images of a guy that screwed the rails to his DVD Writer. Is this the way to do it?

Thanks!
August 17, 2006 2:35:44 PM

Another question I had was about the hard drive. I want to install it in the lower chamber - vertically between the silicone gromets. How do you secure the drive there? I saw a pic on Google again with a guy who had removed the gromet and used a screw. Is this correct?

How do you screw it in and secure it. THANKS!
August 17, 2006 3:04:58 PM

Hi, looks like we're in the same boat - in the procces of building a new computer with a P180 too.

You're correct with the DVD drive, what you have to do is screw the drive rails to the DVD player, with the metallic part facing forward and facing outwards, not inwards (so that it can hook onto the case)... screw the drive rails on and you should have no problem

As for the hard-drives you should keep the grommets there, they minimise noise problems. What you have to do is use the long screws supplied with the 'tool box' which can go through the grommets then into the hard-drive, look for the abnormally long screws in the selection they gave you - they should be there somewhere
Related resources
August 17, 2006 3:08:15 PM

Hey man!