Sign in with
Your question

When I do my first POST - what diagnostics can I run ???

Last response: in Systems
August 17, 2006 3:00:34 PM

Hi guys,

I should be ready to push to power button this weekend (depending on when my parts arrive), and need some help in this area. I've never built a PC before.

Once I power it up and go into the bios (assuming it gets there without a hitch), what do I need to check first to see that everything is running ok (before I install the OS)? I'll have no software at that time - just the Asus P5W DH standard bios.

Question 2 - what does it say on the screen assuming no hardware installation issues and everything is running ok (ie. like no C:\ found or something?). At that point then can I go ahead and install my OS directly from a DVD drive boot up?

Thanks for the help. Sorry for the dumb questions if they seem ridiculous.

I hope it posts first time round. I wouldnt know where to start if it didnt.

More about : post diagnostics run

August 17, 2006 3:07:05 PM

Look at your manual ;)  there's a bit in the P5W DH Deluxe manual called powering up for the first time, or something like that - just look in the index and you should find it easily.

Hope everything goes fine for you :D  unfortunatly for me it hasn't - hard-drive problems but hopefully i'll have solved my problems soon
August 17, 2006 3:12:13 PM

I did read the manual. It talked about setting the BIOS and configuring it. I was thinking more in the line of checking CPU temp, voltages etc. If there is anything that sticks out from the outset that I can identify that I need to fix before spending a few hours in the OS, then its best to figure it out upfront before spending time burning up the system!
Related resources
August 17, 2006 3:16:42 PM

Ah ok - i see what you mean. Well do what i'm doing right this minute (i'm on my laptop next to my new comp).