What do CPUs give the user?

erik_tilton

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2006
I'm a bit of a noob, and I'm curious as to what the CPU does visually (for games and general use).

Does it speed up the display of information? Does it make games less choppy?

What if I use a low-mid range video card and use the best CPU-- Does it make animated things act more smoothly on the screen? Will I be a better online gamer if I have a better CPU and a not-so-great video card?

Because I would so totally go for smoother animation than better visuals, although visuals are nice.

How does a CPU increase differ from a RAM increase? What will each improve?

Also, how does dual core CPUs work? If one of the cores lag up, does the other one say, "OK, my turn!" and take over until the other one feels better?

I apologize if I horrified anyone with my noobularity. Please don't stone me.

stealth_blade

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2003
Well, the system your describing (fast cpu, average video card) is the exact opposite of what you want for gaming on a budget.

At least as far as games go, the cpu coordinates all of the various devices in your system as well as handling certain aspects of the game such as physics, and possibly sound.

On a budget, you would be best served by getting a modern but slower cpu, and as fast a videocard as you can afford. Increasing teh cpu speed will have almost no performance increase (in gaming) unless you are able to pair it with a top of the line graphic card.

RAM is where the cpu stores information it is working on. For gaming, 1 GB of ram is sufficient. If you have less than 1 GB of ram, your games will load much more slowly, and you will see occasional stuttering in your game as information is loaded from your harddisk.

Dual core cpu's are a bit more complicated. First off, programs have to be written specifically to take advantage of a dual core cpu. They are called multithreaded programs.