does windows xp 32bit run 64bit aps?

Hi, i'm very new to the 64bit world, hell i only got my new chip yesterday, it's a amd x2 3800+ 64bit.

The whole machine is as bellow (my signature is wrong cause i obviously upgraded)

AMD 64Bit x2 3800+ 64Bit
Giga-Byte GA-K8NF-9 Nforce 4
ATi 1800GTO 256MB PCI-X
1GB (512x2) DDR 400MHz

i also wanted to know if i was to run windows 64bit can i still run all my other aps that are for windows xp 32bit? like i said, i've really not got much of a clue when it comes to the 64bit world.. just want to squeaze more out of the pc.. oh and on a extra topic, could this run vista as well?
8 answers Last reply
More about does windows 32bit 64bit
  1. You can run 32bit apps in Windows XP x64 (of course, seeing as your CPU is 32 and 64 bit) but there have been a fairly substantial number of people who have had a worse experience with x64 XP than with normal XP, due to driver issues etc...

If, like you said, you are a '64 bit n00b', then I wouldn't bother, as there are very few 64 bit apps that normal people use anyway.
  2. The quick, and right for you answers are:
    Windows xp (non-64 edition) can not run 64 bit progs. It doesn't know what to do with the extra registers, so it pretends they dont exist.
    Windows xp 64 is backwards compatable with all software that was xp compatable.
  3. It wil run both 32 and 64 bit apps without problems. On 64 bit combined with SSE3 you get at least 10% of boost.
    However, if you play newer games or do video editing or other memory hungry processes, 1GB of ram is just the minimum; in many cases, having 1G on a 64 bit system is much like 512-768M on a 32 bit.
  4. when i replaced the board i made sure i had 4 slots this time, so i've got plenty of room for memory upgrades.
  5. As said many times to others in this forum...
    1. Windows XP x64 is very unstable and lacks of drivers
    2. It requires 50% more memory than Windows XP 32bit
    3. The 64bit apps for Windows are professional DB and CAD