questions, need infos for 1st future build O=D

omgitslong

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2006
I'm a newbie, so plz don't get 'offended' in anywayz ty

and these things that's I've been unsure about

LCD: Widescreen or Normal

I've been using, seeing, and used to the normal LCD (4:3), now I'm planning to switch to the Widescreen (1440x900), and I'm really wonder what it will be like. For example, if I play Counter-Strike with it, would the picture look "un-real"? as in proportion-wise, like pplz looks fatter or those similar thing.

Mobo:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131013
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131011

Plz take a look at those 2 mobos. The first one has the heatpipe connected to ONE NorthBridge(??), but in the 2nd mobo, there are TWO NorthBridge(??). What is the purpose of it? Does it makes a difference for having 2 of those NorthBridge(??) ? I'm not talking about the heatsinks, the square things.

Another thing for the Mobo:

Does the Printer Port necessary?(The long pink port) Because I don't see it as often in the higher-end Mobo. So if I purchase a Mobo w/o the Printer Port, can I connect the printer through the USB instead?

HDD:

At first, I planned get a 37.6 GB 10K HDD and install Windows in it, then get another 320GB SATA 3.0 and store other datas in it, and then connect those 2 in RAID. But just a couple days ago, I found out that RAID only(?) works with 2 identical drives. (?) And later, I read someone's quote about putting Windows, Datas, Saves in a 7200RPM HDD, and all the games in the 10K RPM, and I think that's a better idea too. Is it? Sry.. looks kinda confusing..

Things I planned to get in some time between December to February, I'm planning to spend somewhere around $1000-$1200 on this computer, BUT these items can easily be replace as I go

AMD Athlon X2 Socket AM2 2MB L2 65W
4000+ or 4400+ depends on my budget and my urge as the time come

Zalman CNPS 9500 AM2