Sign in with
Your question

am2 x2 3800+ build...advice anyone?

Last response: in Systems
August 19, 2006 11:38:03 PM

I'm new to the building scene but have been doing my research (tomshardware, newegg, etc.) on what hardware to use. I'm gonna go with the AMD Athlon 64 am2 X2 3800+ but haven't made up my mind for the rest. I'm looking at some middle of the line motherboards ($80-120) and video cards but don't know which will suit my needs. I do some gaming (COD2) and photoshop but mainly just have IE and azureus running. Also any components/advice about making this a home theater system and connecting it to my receiver and TV is welcome. I'm not looking to purchase a top of the line system but do want to have everything run smoothly and be able to upgrade (am3) in the future easily.

I was planning on a PCIe vid card and at last a gig of ram. At first I wanted to keep it below $1000 but now I am thinking that will not happen. I really cannot give a strict number I want to keep it around but I will say I am not looking to build someones beast dream machine. Looking for a stable PC that will run smoothly for a couple years.

I think it will be an almost complete new build as I am using a 3 year old Dell dimension 4600 and I don't know if I can/want to use anything from it. I will keep the the monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, and any other non CPU things (let me know if you can think of others) that are compatible for sure until I have enough funds to upgrade each of those. I believe the CPU itself will consist of all new hardware.

Heres a breakdown of what I think/want...

CPU - AMD Athlon 64 am2 X2 3800+ (pretty much set in stone...have read too many threads comparing/degrading/arguing about processors to change my mind now!)

MB - want PCIe but have no need for SLI, a HD or 2 (don't know much about RAID but it looks like I will be going that route in the near future), enough PCI slots for a wireless card, ram (2x1gig), and does sound card use PCI