Sign in with
Your question

Help Build Conroe System; Want Most Bang For Buck, $1500MAX

Last response: in Systems
August 22, 2006 10:35:05 AM

Let me first start off by saying that this forum looks promising; Stumbled upon it from google and word of mouth. Anyways, here are with my dilemma.

I have $1500 that I can spend on a system, but I keep getting around $1800 so it appears I will need some things "slashed" from my proposed build. Please, any advice will be taken seriously as this is my first, non-stoneage build (I have been building Socket 370 Computers for about three years now with NO Newer technology; I was given a dozen old boards and made them work)

THIS $1500 Budget is for hardware only. I will buy software once this is completed so please don't take Windows/Apps into consideration.
I WILL BE USING THIS COMPUTER FOR DAY-TO-DAY TASKS INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO CHECKING E-MAIL, SURFING THE WEB, DOWNLOADING AND TRYING NEW APPS, VIRTUAL PC, MULTIMEDIA (MUSIC; MP3 EXTRACTING AND BURNING, VIDEO; DVD RIPPING, ENCODING, BURNING; VIDEO EDITING, AND I WOULD LIKE THE ABILITY TO GO TO BESTBUY AND BUY THE LATEST GAME AND PLAY IT WITHOUT A HITCH. OK, I am done yelling. Well, anyway here is the system/prices for my build

A SILENT COMPUTER IS IMPORTANT AS WELL

E6600 Conroe Processor $360
Motherboard P532SLN-SLI SE Deluxe $250
***Note, I am not 100% sure of this board yet, I may be patient and wait for a newer more overclockable board to emerge with SLI compatibility and possibly the INTEL chip that everyone is raving for
Corsair 2 x 1 GB (Total 2GB) 6400C4 $254
Seasonic S12-330 (330 Watt PSU) $ 54
Benq DW1650 DVD-RW $ 35
Lite-On CD/CD-RW/DVD Combo $ 30
Asus EN7600GT Silent Video Card $210
Keyboard + Mouse NEW; I"M SICK OF MINE!!! $20

After shipping and everything it comes about $1850 or so...
I have spent $610 on a Moniter, Case, and hard drive so I have about