Silent PSU? What about SeaSonic S12-330?

MarcusAurelius

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2006
I am new to the Silent PC scene, but understand and respect the importance of it. I stumbled upon a website, www.silentpcreview.com and found it to be quite informing, but was curious as to what users on here were doing about PSU's for the their PC's. I am considering getting this SeaSonic PSU as it was rated as on of the quieter ones on the website. Please, any advice, input, suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you

Jdawg683

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2006
im guessing by the model number that it's 330W? those silent PSUs are silent usually b/c theyre low watt. if youre running an HTPC then thats fine, but not for a powerful rig. Tbh, my 600W PSU is nearly silent.... the sound is dwarfed by my case fan(s). i can put my ear up to the back of the PSU and still barely hear fan going. it cant be pushing more than 10-20db.

phreejak

Distinguished
May 11, 2006
a 330? What computer are you running, a commodore 64? PSUs, generally, aren't as noisey as you would think. My Silverstone 750 is extremely good at this. We'd need to know what kind of setup you are going to have (or have) to be able to make any kind of judgement. Watercooling does more to silence a PC than a PSU changeover.

The Seasonic S12 series is one of the best PSU out there. I probably did about 3 months worth of research before deciding on buying the Seasonic S12 500.

Just remember that it take more than just a single component to make a quiet PC. For example:

1. The Antec P150 is a good case for building a quiet PC because you can suspend two drives in the drive cage. This case and the P180 are both highly rated at SPCR.