Sign in with
Your question

New Build: RAM Question... How Much?

Last response: in Memory
August 22, 2006 4:13:59 PM

I'm putting together a new system sometime within the next 6 months. Currently, this is the framework (which will probably change before final purchase):

-eVGA S939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
-AMD64 X2 3800+
-eVGA 7900GT
-A-Data 2x 1GB
-WD Raptor 74GB for progs and apps with a 160GB for data

Main question is: Is 2GB of RAM worth the extra $100 in terms of performance? Loaded question I know, but I've never tried 2GB of RAM before - all systems now have been 1GB or less.

Also, anyone familiar with the A-Data brand? Reliable?

Any other comments or advice also welcome.

System will primarily be for games.

More about : build ram question

August 22, 2006 10:06:17 PM

if this system is for gaming, 2GB is best and sorta considered the "standard" these days in enthusiast gaming. it won't increase your frames per second, but it will decrease load times and decrease spawing times. esp. in MMORPG's and games like Battlefield 2.

i have never heard of A-Data. If it were me, I'd stay away from generic branded memory. Your best bets are:

crucial, corsair, kingston, mushkin, patriot, g.skill, geil, and ocz. i think eVGA is making memory too... they're ok.

quick question: why socket 939?
August 23, 2006 8:05:57 PM

Quote:
if this system is for gaming, 2GB is best and sorta considered the "standard" these days in enthusiast gaming. it won't increase your frames per second, but it will decrease load times and decrease spawing times. esp. in MMORPG's and games like Battlefield 2.

i have never heard of A-Data. If it were me, I'd stay away from generic branded memory. Your best bets are:

crucial, corsair, kingston, mushkin, patriot, g.skill, geil, and ocz. i think eVGA is making memory too... they're ok.

Thanks, man. Your thoughts are appreciated.
Quote:
quick question: why socket 939?