Sign in with
Your question

Core 2 Duo E6600 vs 2x Opteron 246

Last response: in CPUs
August 23, 2006 6:42:35 PM

Hi Everyone! (first post on these forums :D  )

This may be a strange question, but I'm very new to dual core/CPU setups and haven't ever seen a comparison between these setups.

From what I understand the C2D E6600 is very powerful, but is it more so than 2x Opteron 246s? Esp given that I can swap out the single core Opterons and put in 2x dual core models once I have more money and (correct me if I'm wrong) the Opterons offer a larger mem bandwidth, which is quite important to 3D DCC work.

This rig will be a DCC (digital content creation) workstation. The apps I use most are;
3dsmax
Maya
Softimage XSI
ZBrush
Silo
Photoshop

Also (*phew*, almost there) I've ignored the Xeon so far, as I've heard the latest Opterons have Xeon beat. If thats not true, tell me please!

TIA

(BTW I'm looking to upgrade from a P4 3GHz Northwood/1GB DDR400/ATI x800 setup, so anything will be a step up from where I am now! :p  )
August 23, 2006 7:48:01 PM

I believe so. In fact i think even e6300 is faster, ..... in maya anyways.

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=291650&highlight=fast+computer

I have e6400 and at stock speed i get about 413 sec when rendering that maya scene and 280 sec when oc to 3.2 ghz. i took the oc to 3.5ghz and got 255sec but it wasn't 100% prime stable. But 3.2ghz is 100% stable for me.
So i think it's a lot better than dual opteron 246 that renders at 519 sec. I'm not sure about other softwares, but im guessing it's going to yield similar results. I only use maya and photoshop, so for me e6400 is the best $$/performance. And it's like $100 cheaper than e6600.
Whether you overclock or not, core 2 duo is the way to go.
August 24, 2006 1:52:08 AM

e6600 is faster buy a fair amount i believe.
Related resources
August 24, 2006 2:28:23 AM

Quote: