Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading current system, how long will it last?

Last response: in Systems
August 24, 2006 3:58:01 PM

Right now, I have:

AMD Athlon XP 2800+
1 gig RAM
nVidia 6800GT

I think it's time for a better CPU (I've had it for 4 years now) and maybe some more RAM. How is this CPU/mobo combo:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681...

ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 Socket 939

How long will that last me? Will it run games with the Unreal 3 engine decently?

Also, I've never built a system before, so I've never put in a mobo and CPU. How hard is it for the first time? Thanks
August 24, 2006 4:40:05 PM

Quote:
Well if your doing an upgrade and you want it to last for longer then 6 months then you need some changes. If you want to go x2 that's great but you need a better motherboard and you need to drop the AGP card and get a ned PCI-e 16x Video card to go with the new board.

For a new upgrade like you want on a tight budget you could go with this board.
As for video you want to get a 7600GT this will last you for a while.

So get rid og the AGP card. don't even waiste your time with a board that has both AGP and PCI-e. Just go ahead and make the jump to PCI-e. If the Video card is outside your budget right now the drop to an Athlon 64 3500+ so you can get the video card. This may not let you play all the latest and greats games that will be out this time next year. But it will be a good system that should last you a few years. And there is still room for upgrades. You can save up the money and get a better video card and upgrade to that x2 you want.

The 6800GT won't last me any longer? My budget is very small right now, only around $300. If I chose to, couldn't I just get the mobo I listed and upgrade to a PCI-E GPU from there...since the mobo allows both AGP and PCI-E
August 24, 2006 6:29:02 PM

Quote: