New System - Any Comments/Advice?

Kraze

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2005
Hey everyone

I was wondering if I could get some opinions on my new build for a rig i'm going to get in October. It's my first time picking out mostly all the parts. Last computer I bought I just told the guy (I wouldn't trust myself with this much money) what video card I wanted and how much ram i'd like.

So skip some years ahead and here we are. My Althon 3200+ and Nvidia 5950 Ultra are ready to be passed down to someone. It served me well, and still does actually, but I'm ready to make the huge leap in performance.

The computer I built on newegg can be seen here and I'd really like some advice and comments on it. Is it a good build? What would you change in it? Heres a couple things about me though;

Big gamer - I love games with shiney graphics with great fps. So you can just picture me now with my current comp :wink:

Not an overclockler - I've never done it once and I wouldn't know where to start. I've heard it's much easier these days to clock as n00b - so I wouldn't be against it if I could find a good guide and tweak it a tiny bit. Hence why I opted for the e6700 - seemed like the best buy for me.

That's about it. Any comments will be appreciative

Thanks

qwertycopter

Distinguished
May 30, 2006
Wow, just wow. You obviously have some cash to burn. Personally I think you could save some money by not going with the most expensive options and you wouldn't notice the difference (for instance.. the RAM). But if you're gonna go all out, then get an even better PSU so that you'll be all set for when the DX10 cards appear.

angry_ducky

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2006
Nice system. I'll second that recommendation for a higher-wattage PSU. Also, why are you getting a memory cooling kit and RAM heatsinks? You can't do much better than the coolers that come on XMS RAM.

Kraze

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2005