Sign in with
Your question

First Watercooling Setup... Evaluate this Build Please

Last response: in Overclocking
August 25, 2006 5:13:29 PM

So, I'm new to the whole watercooling setup thing. I've read the guide to it stickied in this forum, and some other posts, which have helped me greatly. At first, I thought most setups were created equal and was going to buy a cheap kit... bad idea.

Im planning on using it to cool a E6600 and also put a X1900XTX in the loop. All of this is going inside (radiator might go outside) of a Thermaltake Armor case. I am going to OC the E6600 to at least 3.5ghz, and hopefully more. The X1900XTX probably wont be overclocked, but I hear that the fans on them are pretty damn loud and they generate a lot of heat so I would like a better solution. Im also trying to get this setup to run pretty quitely. So I picked out my own parts and this is what I have so far:

Pump:
Swiftech MCP350 12 VDC Pump

Radiator:
[/img] Swiftech "Quiet Power" series MCR-220

Resevoir:
Thermaltake Aquabay M1 2U

CPU Block:
Swiftech Apogee Water Block

VGA Block:
Swiftech MCW60-B VGA Water Block

Liquid:
PrimoChill PC ICE Non-Conductive Water Cooling Fluid

Fans:
PEVIA(ASPIRE) CF12SL-UBL 120mm

Tubing:
PrimoFlex 3/8in ID 5/8in OD

I think its all set... with a total price tag of around $285 plus tubeing costs.

So... my questions:
1) Is this a good setup? Any problems anyone can see, or parts they wouldn't recommend?

2) I'm going with 3/8 fittings and tubing. Is this close to 1/2 performance or should I go to 1/2"?

3) I heard a lot of good things about Fluid XP+, but the PrimoChill seems to be the same thing for almost half the price. Any thoughts?

4) I'm not sure if I need a shround for the radiator/fans. The product description sounds like I don't need one. Anyone have an idea?