Sign in with
Your question

GIGABYTE--965p-DS3 SYS_FAN

Last response: in Motherboards
August 25, 2006 5:20:33 PM

Hi. I'm quite new to system building. But i managed to build my new E6600 without any major problems. However, i notice the SYS_FAN 4 pin connection on the mobo. What exactly is this for? none of the fan connections on my case[Armor Full Tower] has one. They(case fans) only have a 4 pin direct psu/1 pin connections.

The 1 pin connection[3 pin connector] is pretty much useless, i can't see a use for it. I did mod the direct psu connections slightly so i could hook up the case fans to my Zalman-ZM-MFC1 fan controller. I just took the 2 wires(pos/neg) red and black wires and put them in the two controller switches. I would have liked to connect them to the other four fan controller dials. But i couldn't get power to the fans using the pos/neg wires from the psu connector. I think it expects 3 wires? not sure why.

My cpu hsf is connected to the CPU_FAN, so that works fine. Note this also has a 4 pin connector so i couldn't connect directly to the Zalman-ZM-MFC1 either. Silly really considering it's a Zalman 9500-AT, lol.

I can switch my two led case fans through 12v/off/5v states. But i can't use the finer +/- 1v dials :( 

Maybe someone else with experience can make some suggestions? I'm quite new to working with hardware, so try and keep it simple please :) 
August 25, 2006 6:03:33 PM

bump
August 25, 2006 6:29:29 PM

The SYS_FAN connector is just a normal fan connector that allows you to plug a fan directly into the motherboard rather than the PSU. Nothing special really, just allows the motherboard BIOS to monitor/control the speed of whatever fan you plug into it.