gigabyte ds3 + E6400 (my first overclock)

JJPeerless

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2006
[/img]Hey,

I am attempting my first overclock using the DS3 and E6400 with a Big Typhoon cooler and some Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800mhz 4-4-4-12 ram. My goal is to get slightly above 3ghz and be stable on prime95 for a while.

I have heard of overclocks way higher than this for this setup on stock..so I feel I should be able to reach it no problem..

Im pretty new to overclocking but ive been reading a lot lately... what ive gathered is I basically just increase FSB slowly and when it doesnt boot anymore, give it more voltage..and i also increased the voltage in my ram as well..

however..what im wondering is..how high of voltage do i need.. mines at 1.37 right now for cpu and 2.1 for ram..i dont htink im going any higher on the ram..but i think i can still push the cpu?

my temps are fine..still idling mid/low 30's

so right now i also have the FSB pushed to 320 with the ram multiplier 2.5 which gives them 800mhz (what they are rated for..).. when i push FSB higher i thinki have to drop ram multiplier back down to 2.0 so i dont break my ram..

i noticed when i upped the fsb to 320..my ram timings got worse up to 5-5-5-18 from the 4-4-4-12 i had at fsb of 266 and ram voltage at 1.9..

at these settings (in the screenshot) i am able to run super pi.. and use my compute normally just fine.. but PRIME95 crashes it in like 30 seconds.. so its not stable..and i dont get why..it should be able to do this easily.

here are some screenshots...a little guidance would be great, thanks.

overclock.PNG

trixst4r

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2006
drop multiplier to 2

dont go above 1.5 volts on air cool, 1.55 is dead max on air cooling

I dont have info on ram but 2.2V should still be fine but you dont need to give it anymore V unless u go above 400FSB and the ram needs to be OC'd