Votes: 8 25.0%
  • Knoppix

Votes: 1 3.1%

• Total voters

HelloWorld82

Distinguished
Aug 28, 2006
<i>Why I use gentoo:</i>

use gentoo for 1 and half year now. It was not so hard to install, and I learnt a lot. But of course, Gentoo is not for newbye, and will neither be. look at Ubuntu, or Mandriva, if you want an easy to use distribution.

I will list now what I really like about gentoo. Btw, I know, gentoo also has drawbacks. But for me, it is exactely what I need.

i) I'm a developer.
Because you _have_ to compile everythink with gentoo - you also got a great developement platform, with all header files you need, documentation, example source code, tools. This can be set with the use flag "doc" and "examples"
I develop with python, C++ and java and I couldn't be happyier with gentoo. It's a dream for a me.

ii) Writing ebuilds is not too difficult.

iii)Gentoo repository has lot of packages, and regular updates :
There is nothing like releases or so.

Suse Release cycle : | | | | |
Ubuntu releases cycle: | | | | |
gento : ||||||||||||||||||||||

I can always got new packages, then either I want them. I don't need to wait 6 months.

iv)flexibiliy :
As said above, I'm a programmer. I need sometime to recompile some applications for a given library. This offers me flexibiliy I could not get from binary distribtions.

v)The community :
look at gentoo-forums :
http://forums.gentoo.org

in irc (#gentoo, at freenode) there are always 800-1000 peoples (!!!). You always got help.

Synergy6

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2005
Just a couple of points to clarify.

"Because you _have_ to compile everythink" Err, no you don't. Some programs can be gotten as binaries, and the install CDs have lots of binaries for a faster install.