justjc

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2006
As I'm studying for the next 2-3 years, and don't expect to have money to buy a new PC again, in that time, I am thinking about making a pc from the following components. The computer will mainly be used for writing projects, and using the internet, but I also plan on doing some programming in Dreamweaver(or flash) and play some strategy games.
Cheap and Upgradable is the key words!

Mainboard: EliteGroup KA3 MVP (V1.0A)
- I know the reviews haven't been great, but ECS usually comes up with a bios that fixes the problems, and with the bios being a V1.0J they probably have taken care of the worst problems. The reason for this card is a that it's the only AM2 board to use the ATI Crossfire™ Xpress 3200 chipset, which will allow me to make the original graphics card(see below) into a physics processor when upgrading to a DX10 card.

Graphics: Sapphire RADEON X1600 XT
- It's cheap and does what I need. Plus it's a ATI chip so it should fit my mainboard nicely, and be able to be used as the physics processor(later on), as it's one of the cards ATI has demonstrated with. How big is the diffrence between this and the pro edition?

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Box
- The cheapest A64 CPU for the AM2 socket, I doubt the small X2 is worth the extra money. If nothing else going with the cheap one will make the gain from a later upgrade even better(and a guy like me, where money are important, won't feel as bad for changing it) The stock cooler should be allright, isn't it?

RAM: Kingston ValueRAM 2 x 512 MB (1 GB) / DUAL RAM / DDR II SDRAM / PC2-5300CL5 / 667 MHz / ? Bit? ns
- I've heard one GB should be the absolute minimum and these are nice and cheap.

Case: Apevia X-QPACK X-QPACK-BL/420
- Looks like a cool little case, that can be transported if I need to bring it with me, and it comes with a decent powersupply.

HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250 GB / 7200 rpm / 8 MB / Serial ATA-300