Sign in with
Your question

Core2Duo this year or skip & wait for QuadCore?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Quad Core
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
August 28, 2006 2:12:11 AM

I'm a post-pro vfx student and I kind of grow tired of my P4 640 at home.
I work a lot with Maya and After Effects and other very high class programs and everytime I render something with nice hot summer weather outside my Preshot inside goes right up to 71° C and sometimes even throttles...(probably thanks to hyperthreading, Maya uses the CPU to the absolute max).
And all this with a good zalman cooler I bought...a but never mind to my topic:

So I was fooled by Netburst propaganda and now I'm a victim of the Conroe hype and would love to buy a E6600 sometime before christmas. But I heard numerous rumors about quad-core ready boards coming out this year too and now I wonder if I should keep my Preshott over the winter (warm and cozy) and just skip the whole "dual core thing" and upgrade to quad? Or will there be boards with 2 775 Sockets for C2D? basically will I be able to just "buy another E6600" and stick it in a suitable board?

Would be so awesome to finally be able to afford such a quadcore monster for maya...
Any information and help is appreciated!

More about : core2duo year skip wait quadcore

August 28, 2006 2:18:34 AM

Quadcore will be part of the extreme addition so expect to spend over a grand for one.

Dual core is fine for 99% of the applications out there. About 1% would even utilize 4 processors.

Its never a great idea to wait for technology. If you need to upgrade than upgrade. If you wanna wait than wait because you don't need to upgrade. don't wait because the next best thing isn't out yet. Thats dumb.
August 28, 2006 2:39:01 AM