Can't get my e6600 to 3 ghz, please help!

ChefOfDeath

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2006
Hey everybody. This is my first attempt at OCing, so I need some help here. I've read a number of guides and believe I know what to do. Everything went smoothly, but I seem to have topped out at 2.88 ghz (320x9). I just need those last 13 mhz on the FSB, but it won't boot into windows at that point. I have my CPU voltage at 1.425v, RAM voltage set to auto, and the motherboard voltage thingy at auto (although it has some weird name, like FSB voltage limit or something like that). I belive I have all the weird BIOS settings for auto speed control off.

I just know it's right under my nose, but I really don't know what is holding me back. Is it a voltage thing? (my guess is probably either RAM of mobo, but I am afraid to tamper with those because I haven't encountered much on voltages for them)

Advice would much appreciated.

By the way I'm using an ASUS p5b (not deluxe), corsair XMS2 2 gig (DDR2-800), e6600 (already said that) w/ zalman cnps9500, and a cooler master 550w power supply.

markymoo

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2006
find out your temps first. keep your temps under 60C

take off auto settings and increment your northbridge voltage

increment your cpu voltage, you may have to up your ram voltage so take that auto off and select the next voltage up from default of your ram. raise the fsb to 334

just use small increments and you be safe.

3Ball

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2006
try using a ram divider! The mobo might say for your ram speed in the bios (DDR2 667 or 675 instead of 800mhz) and use that then set your FSB setting to 334mhz and set the vCore back to stock until it wont boot if it will boot with stock then run prime95 over night and see how it does if it give you error or restarts then raise the vcore 1 more step up!