upgrade or build/buy advice...

ripkim

Distinguished
Aug 28, 2006
Hi,

My parents have a Dell Dimension 4100 and they have started to complain that it is slow. I'm trying to determine whether I should try and upgrade this computer or if I should just buy or build them a new one. I've never built a system before and the only upgrade I've done is adding some RAM, so your advice will certainly be welcome.

Here are some specs on the existing system (I apologize for the length of the post):

System Info
Model : Dell Dimension 4100
Chassis Type : 2X
Service Tag : GDRX101
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)

Processor
Number Of Processors : 1
Type : Intel Pentium III EB 866 MHz
Processors Bus Speed : 133 MHz

Motherboard
Manufacturer : IntelCorporation
Model : D815EEA Rev. AAA10383-206
CPU Slot/Socket Type : Socket 370 FC-PGA
Chipset Vendor : Intel i815/E/EP Rev. A2
Bios Manufacturer : Intel Corp.
Bios Version : A04

Graphics
Model : nVidia AGP Riva TNT2 M64
AGP Speed : 4x
Monitor : Dell P991

Storage
Hard Drive 1 : QUANTUM FIREBALLP LM30.0
Size : 28.63 GB

Memory
Total RAM Installed : 384 MB
Type : SDRAM DIMM PC133
Used RAM Slots: 2 of 2

Accessories
USB Version : 1.1

Here's some more info on the processor:
Number Of Processors : 1
Type : Intel Pentium III EB 866 MHz
Package : Socket 370 FC-PGA
Manufacturer Codename : Coppermine
Clock Speed : 864 MHz
Clock Multiplier : 6.5
Front Side Bus (FSB) Speed : 133 MHz
L2 Cache Size : 256 KBytes Stepping : cB0
Trace Width : 0.18
Microcode : 14h
Instruction Sets : MMX, SSE

Here's some more info on the RAM situation: