Is there a better option than the Configurable-HP ProLiant

holymoely

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2006
Hello, all. I am a Sys Admin for an online community website and I am looking to purchase more storage servers and database servers. My CTO and I have come across the Proliant line. I am wondering, are we completely bonkers in beleiving that this is a monster server? What is HP's general reputation? It seems to me that all the reviews state that this is a Class A server. Here are my server details.

Configurable-HP ProLiant DL585 (PC3200) - Rack Server
HP ProLiant DL585 rack server
Two AMD® 885 Opteron™ 2.6GHz/1GHz, Dual Core PC3200 1MB Processors
16GB REG PC3200 4/(2X2048)
Integrated Smart Array 5i Plus Controller with Battery Backed Write Cache
HP 300GB Pluggable Ultra320 SCSI 15,000 rpm (1") Universal Hard Drive
Dual Port HP NC7782 PCI-X Gbit (embedded)
Dual 870W hot pluggable power supply
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
CD-ROM drive 24X carbon
3 years parts, labor and onsite service (3/3/3) standard warranty. Certain restrictions and exclusions apply.

I would be very gratefull to anyone who would like to help. I will return the favor.

Moe

oneitchyeye

Distinguished
May 18, 2006
I like the HP servers. They are great. Currently we use IBM, HP (Compaq), and Dell servers.

What is the budget? Also what is this server being used for? 16GB is bit much for a storage server but great for SQL. 2 300GB drives are great for a file server (but I would have done 3 drives and gone RAID5 for performance but I would split up the drives for a SQL box. Mirror 2 drives (OS and Log files) and a RAID for the DB itself.

The rest looks fine but I have only used the Intel based processors. All the servers we have are Xeons.

Hope that helps.

holymoely

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2006
Great input, thanks a lot! The server we are buying will be for fedora core 5