The AM2 X2 Overclocking thread, advice,questions,benchmarks

BrockSampson

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2006
Hello everyone I just recently built a system around the X2 3800+ Socket AM2. The goal of this thread is to help everyone out there with their AM2 overclocking. I am also new to overclocking and this new platform and I have many questions myself. I want to thank everyone in advance. I would also like to say that what I have working is unique to me and not everyone is going to get the same results I have. I would also like to ask posters to refrain from flaming me because I am only out to help people and get help for myself. Thank you.

This is my first attempt to go dualcore and I am amazed at the potential of this processor. It is truely the enthusiast's dream CPU. I bought the CPU a few days after the price dropped happened and I picked it up for around $160 after shipping. Here is the list of parts I used to build my computer.

CPU: AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Windsor
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-M59SLI-S5 AM2
Graphics card: eVGA 7900GT KO 256mb
Memory: Patriot eXtreme Performance 1GB DDR2 800
- cas. 4-4-4-12
PowerSupply: KINGWIN ABT-600MA1 600w Modular PS
Case: GIGABYTE 3D AURORA
GPU Cooling: ZALMAN VF900 - CU 2
CPU Cooling: ZALMAN CNPS 9500 AM2
HardDrive: Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB
OpticalDrive: NEC 16X DVD+-R Burner

My Current OverClocks:

CPU:
Voltage: 1.425v
Core Speed: 2388.3 MHz
Multiplier: X 10.0
Bus Speed: 240.0

RAM:
Frequency: 398.1
CAS Latency: 5.0 clocks
Voltage: +0.2
NB-->SB HT Speed: 4x
NM<--SB HT Speed: 4x
Memory Clock: DDR 667

PCI-X:
Locked at 100 MHz
CPU Smart Fan Control -- Disabled

With these settings I have had a perfect cool running overclock to 2.4GHz.
Based off recomendations from people throught the TG Forums I was able to accomplish the overclock but I have a few questions.