Next Project: water cooling

Thermaltake Bigwater 745 120mm x3 CPU Liquid Cooling Fan/Heatsink
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835106074

When i save the money i'd like to try it. just because i've never done it before. And that unit seems pretty decent.

Questions:

Where do i put it? i know the block goes on the cpu. I mean the other stuff. Can i place that at the bottom of the case? Do i gotta cut holes on my case? which i'm not doing because its steal. I have a Antec SOHO server steal case.

THe fans - where do thse go?

Like think of me is a newborn with liquid cooling. =)

edit: nvm i found a nice graphic on thermal's site.

Does anyone have this? can i lose the 2 120mm fans and just use the one 120mm? I'd just wanna cool the cpu.

If one of the hoses were to break and leak all over the inside of the case, what should i expect to happen? (lol) is it rare for a leaky hose or is it common?

phreejak

Distinguished
May 11, 2006
lol....

ok, no more caffeine soda for you or you will freak yourself out...

The bigwater is a decent introductory watercooling kit. It's not highend but it will do its job. While I have never used it (I'm into the Do-It-Yourself kits) I know alot of people do. As for component placement, relax. The kit comes with instructions so you will be ok. I guess it provides you with the coolant liquid but I can almost bet you that it is electrically conductive. So, be careful. It is always good to test a cooling loop for leaks before you run it in the computer.

There are several coolant liquids which are NOT electrically conductive (so leaks and spills wouldn't matter) but they are pricey - anywhere from $20 - $34 for about 32 oz. I use PrimoChill ICE (which is a nonconductive solution) in my watercooling loop.

redraider_gamer

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2006