Help with new WinXP RAID5 system setup

IMGordy2U

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2006
I've read thru several of the posts regarding RAID setup, etc but still have some questions. This is my 2nd build but I've never done RAID before.

Here's the basics of the system: AMD Athalon 64 X2, Asus Crosshair mobo with onboard RAID, Win XP Pro x64, 4 WD RE 250 GB HDs.

I'm gonna use the mobo onboard RAID controller to setup a RAID 5 array using the 3 WD HDs. There's nothing loaded yet. What is the order to setup the system for OS install, RAID config, etc?

Do I install Win XP first and then configure the RAID array, or vice versa?
The RAID array is configured in the BIOS -- right?
I want to partition the array into 3 logical drive letters. When is that done?
What else should I be thinking about?

I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.

MarcusL

Distinguished
May 18, 2006
Here how I understand it.

1) Boot to bios and configure your raid array
2) Boot XP disk and load raid driver disk at prompt
3) Format array in xp setup
4) Finish loading xp

rushfan

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2006
1) Setup the array using the controller's BIOS.

2) Install XP. The installer will "see" just one big hard drive. Create one partition only of the size that you want your system (Windows) drive to consume. You'll probably need to hit F6 during the install to supply the drivers for the RAID controller. You need a floppy disk for this.

3) Once XP has finished installing, use the Disk Management console to create and format the remaining two partitions. Choose the "Quick Format" option to save time.

IMGordy2U

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2006
Good advice. Thanks, I appreciate the help.

When is the best time to flash the BIOS?

I read some other posts about needing X2 drivers. I wonder if I'll need to install those. I read that one builder's X2 system didn't have both cores recognised. Is there anything special about a X2 system that I need to worry about?