First time Build

convo

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2006
Hey Everyone,

I'm thinking about building my own computer. I been reading up on building comps for a few months now. I get a lot of it but there are a few things i'm not sure of. I have a few questions I hope a few of you could help with. I'm probably gonna use a 6400 conroe, 2gigs of ram and a 1900XT 512 Vid card. I'm really not looking to spend a ton of $$ on this since it's my first build. Also I don't plan to OC anything cause I don't know how=P

What would be a good MB for a first time builder? I read up on a few but is it better to wait till more come out for the conroe? If so anyone have an idea when new boards will be out?

I want to use my old hard drive and add another to the build. What do I need to do if anything to make this work? Would i have to reinstall my OS in the new hard drive? I'm sure i could be more clear with this but i'm confused myself so hard to put it in words.

Thanks in advance, I can figure anything out with a general knowledge but i want to be clear on this kinda stuff before I buy. Hah and please remember I really am a noob to this stuff.

mikeny

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
Fellow newb :)

I started my first build last week with the e6300. Is yours going to be a gaming machine? I tried to stay on budget but went a little over. Ive heard the Gigabyte 965p-DS3 is good to start with. I dont plan on doing raid or overclocking also. The DS3 is finiky with RAM if you decide on the ds3. The mobo supports memory with 1.8v. I went with corsair ddr2-533 (1.8v)

I did some mail in rebates with newegg also. I listed the parts and got the thumbs up:

WD SATAII 250GB 16mb cache for $67 (mail in rebate included)
Saphirre x1900xtx $329 (mail in rebate included)
x16 DVD-RW-R Lightscribe $39.99 (mail in rebate with microcenter)

And the one Im annoyed at because I missed the sale
$129 Soundblaster X-fi XM but newegg had a sale a week later for $71