LOST!!! NEWBIE. e6600, Corsair 6400c4, P5W DH Deluxe ; HELP!

MarcusAurelius

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2006
:(

Okay, Here is the deal. I am this close >.< to pulling the trigger and buying an e6600, a P5W DH Deluxe (If Found !) and 2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 PC 6400 (c4) ram, but I have hit a wall. MY BRAIN HURTS!!!

This is my first attempt at overclocking and am hoping to find someone to guide me...

Okay here is the mental math that is killing me!

e6600 processor has a FSB of 1066 or 233 if divided by 4 (233)
6400c4 Ram has a capable FSB of 800 or 400 if divided by 2 (400)

P5W DH Deluxe (Not sure of FSB limits with this mobo)

Okay, I am not huge into overclocking, but would like to squeeze a little of extra performance out of the unit and have not had a newbie explanation on this. I am pretty smart (well i hope) and can learn, but this has stumped me.

Okay is the max FSB speed that I can obtain is 400 MHZ due to the RAM? IS THIS easily obtainable with the e6600 proc and the motherboard???

I HAVE LEARNED THAT A 1:1 Ratio is needed for IDEAL performance.

I also want stock cooling as well. I mean, if a 400FSB speed is not possible then I should not waste the money on the ram and go a slower speed right? This is so confusing. I only want to air cool as well.

Please help me with this. I don't want to waste money if it is not going to work, don't get me wrong; I am willing to try if it will work. I just wish I could get it! It seems like rocket science.

THANKS!

I KNOW THERE ARE PEOPLE WHO MAY WANT TO PUSH THE LIMITS AND GO FARTHER THAN THE 400FSB, BUT I WOULD BE HAPPY WITH IT. I'm not sure what the walls are with the e6600 because I have heard different stories.

jonnyli

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006