Sign in with
Your question

Hardware problem with new graphics card - Help Needed!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 31, 2006 3:04:26 PM

Yesterday I received my shiny new x800xt from newegg. Upon installation, while placing the new card into the agp slot, one of the small heatsinks fell off as I turned the card on its side. I was very careful in handling the card, I did not drop it or anything - the piece just fell off. Now, I'm sure this would be covered under warranty, but I don't really want to wait a month for it to get fixed as this seems like something I could fix myself. I've never done anything like this before, however, and want to run it by anyone who knows better than I (which I'm sure is pretty much everyone on these boards). I figured I could just clean off the thermal grease (it is thermal grease right?), reapply, and stick the heatsink back on. Am I way off with this assesment? Should I forget fixing it myself and just return it? Please help!

Here are some pictures so you have an idea of what I'm talking about:

Closeup:
August 31, 2006 4:06:14 PM

Memory heatsinks are more show than go, you probably don't even need it.

There won't be any grease on it now, just old thermal tape. Really, you should just be able to push it back on the memory, twist it a bit and apply pressure - it will probably stick.
August 31, 2006 6:18:05 PM

Well whatever was used to originally stick it on is completely dried up. The first thing I tried was to just stick it back on, but no dice - it doesn't even stick a little, just falls right back off.
Related resources
September 1, 2006 11:43:41 AM